Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University


Classes beginning at 4pm today on the WKU Bowling Green campus are canceled. ALL Thursday and Friday classes on all campuses are also canceled. Online classes will proceed as scheduled. WKU offices will be closed on Thursday, with essential personnel reporting.

WKU Owensboro closed at noon today (Wed., 3/4).

WKU Glasgow evening classes that begin at 5 pm today will be canceled and the WKU Glasgow campus will close at 7 pm.

WKU Elizabethtown-Fort Knox campus will close today at 3 pm and will remain closed Thurs., Fri, and Sat., March 5-7.

Should inclement weather make travel hazardous, residence halls will remain open until Saturday. Follow WKU Housing & Residence Life for updates.

The high school regional basketball tournament games scheduled for tonight have been canceled. Games will be rescheduled for Friday/Saturday. Follow WKU News for the latest updates. #WKUAlert

WKU History Undergraduate Program - Prizes




Apply Now




The History Department has several scholarships prizes and awards to recognize excellence in scholarship among students. These awards and scholarships are in addition to financial aid awarded through the Department of Student Financial Assistance and the WKU College Heights Foundation. These awards commemorate past faculty members of the department.


A. M. Stickles Scholarships: Three scholarships, one in the amount of $2,000 and two in the amount of $1,200 each, are awarded by a faculty committee on the basis of academic achievement and promise to the profession. Only rising college seniors are eligible. The scholarships are in memory of Dr. Arndt M. Stickles, a founder of the Southern Historical Association and Chairman of Western's History Department from 1908 to 1954. A. M. Stickles Award: This award is given annually to a graduating history major on the basis of outstanding academic achievement. Past Winners


James H. Poteet Award: Established in memory of Professor James H. Poteet, a charter member of Eta Pi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta and Head of the Western Kentucky University History Department from 1954 to 1966, this award is made to the graduating senior or graduate student member of Eta Pi Chapter selected by the faculty of the Department of History on the basis of academic achievement and promise of future valuable contributions to the study and teaching of history. Past Winners




Richard L. Troutman Award: Established in 1999, this award is given for excellence in History - awarded to a graduating senior with a distinguished academic record.

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 9/25/14