Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University
EMERGENCY ALERT SYSTEM:

WKU WEATHER ALERT:

Classes beginning at 4pm today on the WKU Bowling Green campus are canceled. ALL Thursday and Friday classes on all campuses are also canceled. Online classes will proceed as scheduled. WKU offices will be closed on Thursday, with essential personnel reporting.

WKU Owensboro closed at noon today (Wed., 3/4).

WKU Glasgow evening classes that begin at 5 pm today will be canceled and the WKU Glasgow campus will close at 7 pm.

WKU Elizabethtown-Fort Knox campus will close today at 3 pm and will remain closed Thurs., Fri, and Sat., March 5-7.

Should inclement weather make travel hazardous, residence halls will remain open until Saturday. Follow WKU Housing & Residence Life for updates.

The high school regional basketball tournament games scheduled for tonight have been canceled. Games will be rescheduled for Friday/Saturday. Follow WKU News for the latest updates. #WKUAlert

WKU History Department - Faculty and Staff


History Department Faculty and Staff


Full-time Faculty


Charles Borders
Charles Borders
Associate Professor
U.S., Europe, World
South Campus C171
(270) 745-2549
charles.borders@wku.edu
 
Dorothea Browder
Dorothea Browder
Associate Professor
U.S. Women, Labor
Cherry Hall 237
(270) 745-5725
dorothea.browder@wku.edu
 
Carol Crowe-Carraco
Carol Crowe-Carraco
University Distinguished Professor
Kentucky, Tudor-Stuart, Women
Cherry Hall 208
(270) 745-5731
carol.crowecarraco@wku.edu
 
Robert Dietle
Robert Dietle
Department Head
Associate Professor
French Revolution, European
Intellectual History
Cherry Hall 240A
(270) 745-5731
robert.dietle@wku.edu
 
Chunmei Du
Chunmei Du
Assistant Professor
Modern East Asia, Chinese Diaspora
Cherry Hall 236
(270) 745-5743
chunmei.du@wku.edu
 
Marko Dumančić
Marko Dumančić
Assistant Professor
Cold War, Modern Russia & Eastern Europe
Cherry Hall 219
(270) 745-7026
marko.dumancic@wku.edu
 
Marc Eagle
Marc Eagle
Associate Professor
Latin America, Early Modern Spain
Cherry Hall 238
(270) 745-7026
marc.eagle@wku.edu
 
John Hardin
John Hardin
Professor
African American, Africa
Cherry Hall 223A
(270) 745-2233
john.hardin@wku.edu
 
Tony Harkins
Tony Harkins
Associate Professor
20th-century United States History, American Popular Culture since Civil War, American Studies
Cherry Hall 218
(270) 745-3149
anthony.harkins@wku.edu
 
Eric Kondratieff
Eric Kondratieff
Assistant Professor
Greek & Roman History, Historiography & Material Culture; Ancient Ethnic Identity; Latin
Cherry Hall 217
(270) 745-8861
eric.kondratieff@wku.edu
 
Glenn W. LaFantasie
Glenn W. LaFantasie
Richard Frockt Family Professor of History
Nineteenth-Century America, Civil War and Reconstruction, Old South
Cherry Hall 229
(270) 745-4950
glenn.lafantasie@wku.edu
 
David Lee
David Lee
Dean of Potter College
Professor
20th Century U.S., Aviation, U.S. Political, South
Fine Arts Center 200
(270) 745-5204
david.lee@wku.edu
 
Andrew McMichael
Andrew McMichael
Assistant Dean of Potter College
Associate Professor
Atlantic World, Borderlands, History of Alcohol, Colonial/Revolutionary America
Fine Arts Center 200
(270) 745-2344; (270) 745-6538
andrew.mcmichael@wku.edu
 
Jeffrey Miner
Jeffrey Miner
Assistant Professor
Late Medieval Europe & Mediterranean
Cherry Hall 214B
(270) 745-3841
jeffrey.miner@wku.edu
 
Patti Minter
Patti Minter
Associate Professor
American Legal, 19th and 20th-Century U.S. and Southern
Cherry Hall 206
(270) 745-5098
patricia.minter@wku.edu
 
Beth Plummer
Beth Plummer
Director of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor
Renaissance and Reformation Europe
Cherry Hall 223B
(270) 745-5739
beth.plummer@wku.edu
 
Eric Reed
Eric Reed
Associate Professor
Modern France, Modern Europe
Cherry Hall 233
(270) 745-5732
eric.reed@wku.edu
 
Juan Romero
Juan Romero
Assistant Professor
Modern Middle East
Cherry Hall 214A
(270) 745-3196
juan.romero@wku.edu
 
Selena Sanderfer
Selena Sanderfer
Assistant Professor
African Diaspora, American History
Cherry Hall 230B
(270) 745-4739
selena.sanderfer@wku.edu
 
David Serafini
David Serafini
Instructor
U.S., Europe, World
Cherry Hall 224D
(270) 745-6937
david.serafini@wku.edu
 
Jack Thacker
Jack Thacker
Professor
European History since 1815, Military History, Diplomatic History
Cherry Hall 224C
(270) 745-5737
 
Tamara Van Dyken
Tamara Van Dyken
Assistant Professor
United States Religious History, Evangelicalism and Fundamentalism, History Education
Cherry Hall 230A
(270) 745-2994
tamara.vandyken@wku.edu
 
Jennifer Walton-Hanley
Jennifer Walton-Hanley
Assistant Professor
African American and Race, Civil War & Reconstruction, U.S. 1750-1930, 19th-Century Britain
WKU-Glasgow, Room 214
(270) 659-6959
jennifer.walton-hanley@wku.edu
 
Richard Weigel
Richard Weigel
Undergraduate Advisor
University Distinguished Professor
Ancient Greece and Rome
Cherry Hall 201A
(270) 745-5724
richard.weigel@wku.edu
 

Part-Time, Emeritus, and Affiliated Faculty


James Baker
James Baker
University Distinguished Professor (Emeritus)
U.S., Britain
Cherry Hall 230D
(270) 745-5741
james.baker@wku.edu
 
Charles Bussey
Charles Bussey
Professor Emeritus
19th-Century U.S.
Cherry Hall 231
(270) 745-5735
charles.bussey@wku.edu
 
Robert Haynes
Robert Haynes
Professor Emeritus
U.S. South, Race
Cherry Hall 220D
(270) 745-4090
robert.haynes@wku.edu
 
Stephen Kershner
Stephen Kershner
Instructor
Roman History & Classical Literature
Cherry Hall 212
(270) 745-5738
stephen.kershner@wku.edu
 
Marion B. Lucas
Marion B. Lucas
University Distinguished Professor (Emeritus)
Old South, Civil War, and Reconstruction
Cherry Hall 224B
(270) 745-5736
marion.lucas@wku.edu
 
Alexander Olson
Alexander Olson
Assistant Professor, Honors College
U.S. Cultural & Intellectual History since 1860, U.S. West, American Studies
Garrett Conference Center 121
(270) 745-2081
alexander.olson@wku.edu
 
Richard Stone
Richard Stone
Professor Emeritus
Colonial U.S.
richard.stone@wku.edu
 
Paula Trafton
Paula Trafton
Instructor
Europe, World
Cherry Hall 220C
(270) 745-6981
paula.trafton@wku.edu
 
Richard Troutman
Richard Troutman
Professor Emeritus
Kentucky History
Cherry Hall 232
(270) 745-6067
richard.troutman@wku.edu
 
 

Staff


Janet Haynes
Janet Haynes
History Department Office Associate
Cherry Hall 201
270-745-3842
janet.haynes@wku.edu
 
 

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 
 Last Modified 11/13/14