Facebook Pixel School of Media | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content
Our Focus is Your Future.

School of Media’s Senior Gallery online

The WKU School of Media is proud to present our senior gallery show representing the hard work accomplished by our 2020 graduating class. Congratulations to these talented students and we wish them the best of luck as they continue on into their careers!


School of media grad list



Search Committee for the School of Media Director announces additional finalist

Ms. Kari Barber, of the University of Nevada, Reno, Reynolds School of Journalism, will interview Monday, April 20, with a virtual public presentation at 4:30 pm CST. Interested faculty, staff, students, alumni, and members of the community are invited to attend.

Please email miranda.pederson@wku.edu for the Zoom code on Monday.





WKU wins Hearst photojournalism championship

Congratulations to WKU’s School of Media for winning the Hearst Journalism Awards Program’s Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition for the fourth straight year and 26th time in the past 31 years. In the Photojournalism II – Picture Story/Series Competition, Lily Thompson, a senior from Paoli, Indiana, finished second, received a $2,000 award and qualified for the semifinal round of judging.



WKU School of Media Photojournalism grads win Hearst Awards

Congratulations to Kendall Warner and Mhari Shaw who placed fifth and sixth in 2019-2020 Hearst Journalism Awards Program’s the Multimedia Innovative Storytelling and Audience Engagement Competition



WKU School of Media partners with WKU Public Radio in management of WWHR-FM

WKU School of Media announces a new partnership with WKU Public Radio regarding the management of WWHR-FM, WKU’s student-run radio station.

Public Radio is responsible for the management, operation, and broadcast programming of the station effective February 1, 2020. The station will continue to serve as an educational lab overseen by the School of Media Broadcasting program faculty. Students will continue to produce news programs and gain valuable broadcasting experience.

 “This partnership with WKU Public Radio will expand the range of skills and learning experiences of student broadcasters by providing additional professional opportunities and mentorship. This is a win for our students and the School of Media,” stated Dr. Larry Snyder, Dean of Potter College of Arts & Letters.



WKU SoM student places 7th in Hearst Radio News & Features

 The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the finalists selected in the 2019-2020 Journalism Awards Program’s Radio News and Features competition:

Seventh Place, Natalie Turner, Western Kentucky University




More Events



Find Us On Campus

Jody Richards Hall

The School of Media office is located in room 216 of Jody Richards Hall (formerly Mass Media and Technology Hall).


    1906 College Heights Blvd #11070

    Bowling Green, KY 42101


    1665 Normal Street

    Bowling Green, KY 42101

  • (270) 745-4144








The School of Media at WKU is ACEJMC accredited for majors in Broadcasting, Journalism and Photojournalism.



Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 5/18/20