Facebook Pixel Emeritus Faculty | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Elizabeth Oakes

Dr. Elizabeth Oakes
- Professor of English, Emerita

Dr. Elizabeth Oakes (Ph.D.,Vanderbilt University) taught Shakespeare and Women's Poetry for 21 years before retiring in 2008. During that time she published critical articles on Shakespeare and on poetry, as well as her own poetry. She and Jane Olmsted co-founded and co-edited the Kentucky Feminist Writers Series, which published three volumes between 1999 and 2006 and won both a university award and a state award for excellence. Her first volume of poems, The Farmgirl Poems, won the 2004 Pearl Poetry Prize and was followed by The Luminescence of All Things Emily, a series of poems about Dickinson and her friends and family. Since retiring, she has published two more books of poetry, Mercy in the New World and Leave Here Knowing, as well as a book for Kindle, Solace: Readings for Transforming Childhood Trauma. She and her husband, John, an artist, moved to Sedona, Az, in 2012 and are active in the literary and art scene there. She has become interested in the ancient petroglyphs which abound in the area, especially those that relate to the lives of women. 

Back to Listing


Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 4/24/18