Facebook Pixel Goldenrod | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

Goldenrod Poetry Festival

The Goldenrod Poetry Festival is sponsored by the English Club, and is a yearly event. All students are welcome to submit their own original works of poetry. The top ten poets participate in a private workshop with a visiting poet (which changes each year), who also gives a reading during the Goldenrod Poetry Festival. This event is free and open to the public.

Official rules and coversheets will be available in the English office just before submissions start being accepted.

The guest speakers at and winners of past Goldenrod Poetry Festivals are listed below.

Erin Slaughter was the 2020 guest poet.


The 2020 Goldenrod Winners are:

1st Place: Noah Powers

2nd Place: Ella Corder

3rd Place: Sarah Olive


The 2019 Goldenrod Winners were:

1st place: Samantha Williams

2nd place: Natalie Turner

3rd place: Aimee Edens


Nathan Spoon was the 2018 guest poet.

The 2018 Goldenrod Winners were:

1st place: Adrian Sanders

2nd place: Iman Zaghariet

3rd place: Cassidy Townsend


Maggie Woodward was the 2017 guest poet.

The 2017 Goldenrod Winners were:

1st place: Natalie Rickman

2nd place: Emily Houston

3rd place: Heather Borders


Gary McDowell was the 2016 guest poet.

The 2016 Goldenrod Winners were:

1st place: Josh Arend

2nd place: Taylor Reyes

3rd place: Bridget Yates


Saeed Jones was the 2015 guest poet, who was present via Skype. 

The 2015 Goldenrod Winners were:

1st place: Derek Ellis

2nd place: Jared Johnson

3rd place: Isiah Fish


Matt Hart was the 2014 guest poet for the tenth anniversary of Goldenrod.

The 2014 Goldenrod winners were:

1st place: Ashley Coulter

2nd place: Kate Warren-Westbrook

3rd place: Richard Heyne


Nickole Brown was the 2013 guest poet.

The 2013 Goldenrod winners were:

1st place: Tracy Jo Ingram

2nd place: Maggie Woodward

3rd place: Elizabeth Gatten


Savannah Sipple was the 2019 guest poet

Stacia Flegal was the 2012 guest poet.

Adam Day was the 2011 guest poet.

Beth Gylys was the 2010 guest poet.

Richard Jackson was the 2009 guest poet.

Jillian Weise was the 2008 guest poet.

Josh Bell was the 2007 guest poet.

Lorraine Lopez was the 2006 guest poet.

Mark Yakich was the 2005 guest poet.




Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 4/20/20