Facebook Pixel OCSE Safe Community Action | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

OCSE Safe Community Action

On July 30, 2014, Western Kentucky University became accredited by the National Safety Council as a Safe Community.  WKU is the fourth university and the 25th community to receive this accreditation.  Safe Communities America is a program associated with an accreditation in which any community can receive if certain criteria are met.  This program is an approach that is proven to reduce injuries within a community through the use of community coalition members.

So, What is a Safe Community?

  • Shares a geographical area (such as a municipality, campus, district, county, or region)
  • Works together in a coordinated and collaborative way
  • Promotes safety and health to prevent injury of its residents
  • Uses community data to prioritize safety and health areas in greatest need of attention
  • Is committed to the process of continuous improvement
  • Saves lives and prevents injuries

To become a Safe Community, WKU Safe Community Coalition members coordinated and discussed current programs regarding different safety categories.  Upon gathering this information, the application process began and the coalition members started addressing the four areas of competency (established by the National Safety Council).  After review of the application, a two-day site visit was conducted at Western Kentucky University.  This site visit consisted of touring WKU, meeting with coalition members, and discussing current safety programs, as well as brainstorming future program enhancements.  After a very successful site visit, a designation ceremony was coordinated to celebrate WKU's accreditation success!

Safe Community America Logo

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 8/3/22