Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Ogden News

WKU Students Earn KY Academy of Science Honors

WKU Students Earn KY Academy of Science Honors

The Kentucky Academy of Science held its 2017 Annual Meeting November 3-4 at Murray State University.  More than 500 scientists and students attended the 2017 Annual meeting, and hundreds of undergraduate and graduate students from Kentucky and regional colleges and universities participated in the research competitions. 

KAS is pleased to announce award winners of the student competitions from Western Kentucky University:

Undergraduate poster presentation:

Benjamin Kash, 1st place, Chemistry: Organic/Inorganic

Alexander Banaszak, 1st place, Physics & Astronomy

Alex Henson, 3rd place, Physics & Astronomy

Blaine Patty, 1st place, Physiology & Biochemistry

Matthew Millay, 1st place, Physiology & Biochemistry


Undergraduate oral presentation:

Ryan Lamb, 1st place, Chemistry: Analytical/Physical

Mara Krempel, 2nd place, Chemistry: Analytical/Physical

Kayla Steward, 3rd place, Chemistry: Analytical/Physical

Audrey Alexander, 3rd place, Ecology & Environmental Science

Jason Fox, 3rd place, Geography

Samuel Kessler, 1st place, Agriculture

Audrey Barnett, 3rd place, Agriculture

Keelee Pullum, 3rd place, Cellular & Molecular Biology

Wendy Cecil, 1st place, Ecology & Environmental Science

Austin Gabhart, 1st place, Mathematics


Graduate oral presentation:

Mason Gibson, 2nd place, Anthropology & Sociology

Afolasayo Aromiwura, 2nd place, Cellular & Molecular Biology

Hongyan Gao, 1st place, Chemistry: Organic/Inorganic

Jonathan Malone, 2nd place, Chemistry: Organic/Inorganic

Konnor Jones, 2nd place, Chemistry: Analytical/Physical

Jesus Alejandro Berlanga, 3rd place, Chemistry: Analytical/Physical

Samantha Thomas, 3rd place, Ecology & Environmental Science

James Shelley, 1st place, Geography

Kathryn Laslie, 1st place, Zoology

Cassandra Scalf, 2nd place, Zoology

Winners in all categories are available here, along with photos of awards winners

 The Kentucky Academy of Science is a non-profit organization, founded in 1914, whose mission is to foster scientific discovery and understanding in Kentucky. Asbury University faculty, staff and students may become members of the Kentucky Academy of Science at

 For more information: Amanda Fuller, Kentucky Academy of Science, (859)-227-2837;

Latest Headlines
What's Happening at WKU

What's Happening at WKU for Jan. 24-Feb. 10, 2018.

Today@WKU: January 23, 2018

Welcome to Today@WKU, the daily newsletter from WKU Public Affairs, for January 23, 2018.

Panhellenic Council, Interfraternity Council announce 2018 officers

WKU’s Panhellenic Council and Interfraternity Council have announced their officers for 2018.

Featured Articles
WKU senior selected as 2018 Kentucky Derby Festival Princess

Katie Bouchard, a WKU senior from Owensboro, is among five women selected to serve as Princesses in the 2018 Kentucky Derby Festival Royal Court.

'Kaleidoscope' exhibit to feature 'Kentucky Sun Quilt'

Featuring 30 quilts, including the circa 1880 Kentucky Sun Quilt, "Kaleidoscope: Kentucky Museum Quilts" will open Jan. 22 at the Kentucky Museum.

2018 Winter Weather Communications Plan

Here’s a reminder about WKU’s winter weather communications plan that provides a number of ways you can find out if classes are delayed, canceled or if a campus is closed.


Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 3/6/17