Facebook Pixel 2 WKU faculty members selected for Fulbright awards | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

Ogden News

2 WKU faculty members selected for Fulbright awards

  • Author: WKU News
  • Author: Wednesday, March 29th, 2017
2 WKU faculty members selected for Fulbright awards

WKU faculty members Saundra Curry Ardrey and Kam C. (Johnny) Chan have been selected for Fulbright U.S. Scholar grants.

Dr. Ardrey, head of WKU’s Department of Political Science, will spend a year at the University of Limpopo in South Africa, while Dr. Chan, Leon Page Chair of Finance and University Distinguished Professor, will spend the fall 2017 semester in China.

“While traveling with the Zuheir Sofia Endowed International Faculty Seminar delegation to the University of Limpopo in South Africa, I realized that UL is where I belong,” Dr. Ardrey said. “I attended undergraduate at an historically black college, Winston-Salem State University, so to teach in an institution similar to the one that was instrumental in my personal and professional development is a long-held goal.”

In consultation with University of Limpopo’s Division of Social Sciences, Dr. Ardrey’s Fulbright year (July 2017 to June 2018) will include teaching modules that focus on Women of the African Diaspora, curriculum review/development of the Limpopo Division of Social Sciences, and research on the political behavior of women of the African diaspora through in-depth one-on-one interviews.

“In the African American community we say ‘sankofa’ which means ‘to go back and get it.’ It means ‘to give back.’ This Fulbright is an opportunity to share my knowledge and expertise with eager young minds; to the young gifted and black students at UL,” Dr. Ardrey said. “I share a bond with not only the students but with the faculty. To work with and support the faculty of UL is my way of honoring my mentors who shaped me; this is my way of giving back and contributing to the next generation of young African scholars.”

Dr. Chan will be teaching international finance this fall at a university in China; selection of the school is pending.

“I am honored to receive the Fulbright Award. It is definitely the highlight of career,” Dr. Chan said. “I shall leverage the opportunity to share the best practices in teaching and research in the U.S. with the Chinese and learn their culture in the education process.”

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government’s flagship international exchange program seeking to increase mutual understanding between Americans and the people of other countries. Established in 1946 by U.S. Sen. J. William Fulbright and sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, the Fulbright Program awards approximately 8,000 grants annually in more than 160 countries.

The Fulbright Scholar Program provides fully funded opportunities for faculty to conduct research, teach abroad or engage in collaborative projects overseas. As a catalyst for energizing research, connecting U.S. scholars with international colleagues, or broadening faculty members’ teaching with global perspectives, Fulbright Scholar alumni are strong advocates for the program and international education in general.

Final selections of Fulbright awards will be complete in fall 2017.

Contact: International Programs, (270) 745-3975

  Back to Archive


Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 4/20/18