Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Center for Robert Penn Warren Studies at WKU

About the Robert Penn Warren-Cleanth Brooks Award

Each year the Advisory Group offers the Robert Penn Warren-Cleanth Brooks Award for an outstanding work of literary scholarship or criticism published in that year that exemplifies in the broadest sense the spirit, scope, and standards represented by the critical tradition established by Warren and Brooks. In particular, the award is intended to recognize and honor work that employs in a significant way the methods associated with "close reading" of the texts. In the past, we have often invited the winner of the Warren-Brooks Award for Outstanding Literary Criticism to present a lecture at Western Kentucky University on the weekend of the Warren symposium.

For general information about the Warren-Brooks Award, including details on the nomination process, please contact Dr. Nicolette Bruner at  

To see a list of previous winners of the Warren-Brooks Award, click here: Previous Winners





RPW Center

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 12/17/15