Facebook Pixel Center for Robert Penn Warren Studies at WKU | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

Center for Robert Penn Warren Studies at WKU

Previous Winners of the Warren-Brooks Award

The following books have been honored with the Robert Penn Warren-Cleanth Brooks Award: 

1994-95    Lewis P. Simpson, The Fable of the Southern Writer
1996    Mark Royden Winchell, Cleanth Brooks and the Rise of Modern Criticism
1997    John Hollander, The Work of Poetry
1998    Denis Donoghue, The Practice of Reading
1999    Richard Schuchard, Eliot's Dark Angel
2000    Sir Frank Kermode, Shakespeare's Language
2001    Paul V. Murphy, The Rebuke of History
2002    Stephen Burt, Randall Jarrell and His Age
2003    Laurence Buell, Emerson
2004    James H. Justus, Fetching the Old Southwest
           Marjorie Perloff, Differentials
2005    Constance Hassett, Christina Rossetti: The Patience of Style
2006    David Rosen, Power, Plain English, and the Rise of Modern  Poetry
2007    Jeff Dolven, Scenes of Instruction in Renaissance Romance
2008    Robert Brinkmeyer, Jr., The Fourth Ghost: White Southern Writers and European Fascism, 1930-1950
2009    Peter W. Travis, Disseminal Chaucer: Rereading the Nun's Priest's Tale
2010    Mark Payne, The Animal Part: Human and Other Animals in the Poetic Imagination
2011    Richard Strier, The Unrepentant Renaissance: From Petrarch to Shakespeare to Milton
2012    Meredith Martin, The Rise and Fall of Meter: Poetry and English National Culture, 1860-1930
2013    Victor Brombert, Musings on Mortality: Tolstoy to Primo Levi
2014    Richard Rankin Russell, Seamus Heaney's Regions
2015    Dr. Ann Keniston, Ghostly Figures: Memory and Belateness in American Postwar Poetry
2016    Dr. Vidyan Ravinthiran, Elizabeth Bishop's Prosaic
2017    Dr. Bonnie Costello, The Plural of Us: Poetry and Community in Auden and Others

RPW Center

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 9/12/18