Facebook Pixel Center for Robert Penn Warren Studies at WKU | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

Center for Robert Penn Warren Studies at WKU

Selected Works by Robert Penn Warren


Night Rider, Houghton, (1939)
At Heaven's Gate, Harcourt, (l943)
All the King's Men, Harcourt, (1946) - Pulitzer Prize
World Enough and Time, Random House, (1950)
Band of Angels, Random House, (1955)
The Cave, Random House, (1959)
Wilderness: A Tale of the Civil War, Random House, (1961)
Flood: A Romance of Our Time, Random House, (1964)
Meet Me in the Green Glen, Random House, (1971)
A Place to Come To, Random House, (1977)



Thirty-six Poems, Alcestis Press, (1936)
Eleven Poems on the Same Theme, New Directions, (1942)
Selected Poems: 1923-1943, Harcourt, (1944)
Brother to Dragons: A Tale in Verse and Voices, Random House, (1953) - Book Length
Brother to Dragons: A Tale in Verse and Voices--A New Version, Random House, (1979) - Book Length
Promises: Poems 1954-1956, Random House, (1957) - Pulitzer Prize
You, Emperors, and Others: Poems 1957-1960, Random House, (1960)
Selected Poems: New and Old, 1923-1966, Random House, (1966)
Incarnations: Poems 1966-1968, Random House, (1968)
Audubon: A Vision, Random House, (1969) - Book Length
Or Else: Poem/Poems 1968-1974, Random House, (1974)
Selected Poems: 1923-1976, Random House, (1977)
Now and Then: Poems 1976-1978, Random House, (1978) - Pulitzer Prize
Being Here: Poetry 1977-1980, Random House, (1980)
Rumor Verified: Poems 1979-1980, Random House, (1981)
Chief Joseph of the Nez Perce, Random House, (1983) - Book Length
New & Selected Poems: 1923-1985, Random House, (1985)


Short Stories

The Circus in the Attic, and Other Stories, Harcourt, (1947)
Blackberry Winter, Cummington Press, (1946)



Understanding Poetry (with Cleanth Brooks), Holt, (1938), 4th edition, (1976)
Understanding Fiction (with Cleanth Brooks), Crofts, (1943), 2nd Edition, Appleton-Century -Crofts, (1959)
Fundamentals of Good Writing - A Handbook of Modern Rhetoric (with Cleanth Brooks), Harcourt, (1950)
     2nd edition published under original title (1958)
     4th edition published under original title (1979)

American Literature: The Makers and the Making (with Cleanth Brooks and R.W.B. Lewis), St. Martin's, (1974)


Children's Books

Remember the Alamo, Random House, (1958)
The Gods of Mount Olympus, Random House, (1959)
How Texas Won Her Freedom, San Jacinto Museum of History, (1959)



All the King's Men: A Play (1960)



Homage to Theodore Dreiser, On the Centennial of His Birth, Random House, (1971)
John Greenleaf Whittier's Poetry: An Appraisal and a Selection, University of Minnesota Press, (1971)
Selected Essays, Random House, (1958)
Portrait of a Father, University Press of Kentucky, (1988)
Jefferson Davis Gets His Citizenship Back, University Press of Kentucky, (1980)
New and Selected Essays, Random House, (1989)

Historical Works

Segregation: The Inner Conflict in the South, Random House, (1956)
The Legacy of the Civil War: Meditations on the Centennial, Random House, (1961)
Who Speaks for the Negro, Random House, (1965)


Historical Works

John Brown: The Making of a Martyr, Payson & Clarke, (1929), Reprinted, Scholarly Press, (1970)



A Robert Penn Warren Reader, Random House, (1987)

RPW Center


Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 9/12/18