Facebook Pixel Biology Faculty and Staff | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

Biology Faculty and Staff


Lawrence Alice, Ph.D. University of Maine

Lawrence Alice, Ph.D. University of Maine
- Associate Professor

  • Email: lawrence.alice@wku.edu
  • Office: EBS 3129
  • Phone Number: 270-745-7029
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/alice_2017.pdf
John Andersland, Ph.D. Cornell University

John Andersland, Ph.D. Cornell University
- Staff

Noah Ashley, Ph.D. University of Washington

Noah Ashley, Ph.D. University of Washington
- Assistant Professor, Lancaster Professor

Simran Banga, Ph.D. Purdue University

Simran Banga, Ph.D. Purdue University
- Assistant Professor

  • Email: simran.banga@wku.edu
  • Office: Skyteach 05
  • Phone Number: 270-745-4748
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/documents/banga_cv_2017.pdf
Gregory Blass, Ph.D.

Gregory Blass, Ph.D.
- Instructor

Cassandra Cantrell, M.S. Western Kentucky University

Cassandra Cantrell, M.S. Western Kentucky University
- Undergraduate Advising

Mark Clauson, M.S. Western Kentucky University

Mark Clauson, M.S. Western Kentucky University
- Staff

  • Email: mark.clauson@wku.edu
  • Office: SH 2103
  • Phone Number: 270-745-6010
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/documents/clauson_cv_2016.pdf
Kenneth Crawford, Ph.D. University of Michigan

Kenneth Crawford, Ph.D. University of Michigan
- Associate Professor, Chief Pre-Health Professions Advisor, Associate Dean of Ogden College of Science & Engineering

Cheryl Davis, Ph.D. Wake Forest University

Cheryl Davis, Ph.D. Wake Forest University
- Professor

  • Email: cheryl.davis@wku.edu
  • Office: WAB 301
  • Phone Number: 270-745-6733
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/documents/cv_davis_2017.pdf
Carl W. Dick, Ph.D. Texas Tech University

Carl W. Dick, Ph.D. Texas Tech University
- Associate Professor

  • Email: carl.dick@wku.edu
  • Office: OCH G012
  • Phone Number: 270-745-2043
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/dick_2017.pdf
Jessica Dunnegan

Jessica Dunnegan
- Operations Manager

Chandrakanth Emani, Ph.D. Osmania University

Chandrakanth Emani, Ph.D. Osmania University
- Associate Professor of Plant Molecular Biology and Online Non-Thesis Graduate Program Director

Blaine Ferrell, Ph.D. Louisiana State University

Blaine Ferrell, Ph.D. Louisiana State University
- Dean Emeritus

Bobby Gaffney, Ph.D. University of Kentucky

Bobby Gaffney, Ph.D. University of Kentucky
- Research Assistant, Bioinformatics

Scott Grubbs, Ph.D. University of Pittsburgh

Scott Grubbs, Ph.D. University of Pittsburgh
- Professor

  • Email: scott.grubbs@wku.edu
  • Office: OCH G008
  • Phone Number: 270-745-5048
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/grubbs_2017.pdf
Steve Huskey, Ph.D. Florida Institute of Technology

Steve Huskey, Ph.D. Florida Institute of Technology
- Associate Professor

  • Email: steve.huskey@wku.edu
  • Office: EBS 3118
  • Phone Number: 270-745-2062
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/huskey_2017.pdf
Sigrid Jacobshagen, Ph.D. Free University of Berlin

Sigrid Jacobshagen, Ph.D. Free University of Berlin
- Professor

  • Email: sigrid.jacobshagen@wku.edu
  • Office: Skyteach 07
  • Phone Number: 270-745-5994
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/jacobshagen_2017.pdf
Jarrett Johnson, Ph.D. University of Missouri

Jarrett Johnson, Ph.D. University of Missouri
- Associate Professor and Faculty Senate Representative (at-large)

Michael Killen, Ph.D. University of Kentucky

Michael Killen, Ph.D. University of Kentucky
- Instructor

  • Email: michael.killen@wku.edu
  • Office: CH 27
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/documents/killen_cv_2016.pdf
Rodney King, Ph.D. Med. Coll. of Va, VCU

Rodney King, Ph.D. Med. Coll. of Va, VCU
- Professor

  • Email: rodney.king@wku.edu
  • Office: EBS 3104
  • Phone Number: 270-745-6910
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/king_2017.pdf
Philip Lienesch, Ph.D. University of Oklahoma

Philip Lienesch, Ph.D. University of Oklahoma
- Associate Professor

  • Email: philip.lienesch@wku.edu
  • Office: OCH G008
  • Phone Number: 270-745-6006
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/documents/lienesch_cv_2016.pdf
William Lynch, M.S. Eastern Kentucky University

William Lynch, M.S. Eastern Kentucky University
- Instructor

Kerrie McDaniel, Ph.D. Southern Illinois University

Kerrie McDaniel, Ph.D. Southern Illinois University
- Assistant Professor

  • Email: kerrie.mcdaniel@wku.edu
  • Office: Skyteach 09
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/mcdaniel_2017.pdf
Doug McElroy, Ph.D. University of Maine

Doug McElroy, Ph.D. University of Maine
- Professor and Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

  • Email: doug.mcelroy@wku.edu
  • Office: Wetherby Administration Building; 212
  • Phone Number: 270-745-7009
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/mcelroy_2017.pdf
Albert Meier, Ph.D. University of Georgia

Albert Meier, Ph.D. University of Georgia
- Professor

  • Email: albert.meier@wku.edu
  • Office: EBS 3120
  • Phone Number: 270-745-2396
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/meier_2017.pdf
Ila Mishra, Ph.D.

Ila Mishra, Ph.D.
- Post-Doctoral Fellow

Dave Monroe, Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Dave Monroe, Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
- Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

  • Email: jerry.monroe@wku.edu
  • Office: SH 2107
  • Phone Number: 270-745-5176
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/documents/monroe_cv_2016.pdf
Natalie Mountjoy, Ph.D., Southern Illinois University

Natalie Mountjoy, Ph.D., Southern Illinois University
- Assistant Professor

  • Email: natalie.mountjoy@wku.edu
  • Office: Skyteach 08
  • Phone Number: 2707453455
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/documents/mountjoy_cv_2017.pdf
Keith Philips, Ph.D. The Ohio State University

Keith Philips, Ph.D. The Ohio State University
- Professor

  • Email: keith.philips@wku.edu
  • Office: EBS 3122
  • Phone Number: 270-745-3419
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/philips_2017.pdf
Nancy Rice, Ph.D. University of Tennessee, Memphis

Nancy Rice, Ph.D. University of Tennessee, Memphis
- Professor

  • Email: nancy.rice@wku.edu
  • Office: Skyteach 06
  • Phone Number: 270-745-5995
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/documents/rice_cv_2016.pdf
Melanie Richter, Ph.D. University of Alaska Fairbanks

Melanie Richter, Ph.D. University of Alaska Fairbanks
- Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

  • Email: melanie.richter@wku.edu
  • Office: EBS 3131
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/documents/richter_cv_2016.pdf
Claire Rinehart, Ph.D. University of Georgia

Claire Rinehart, Ph.D. University of Georgia
- Professor

  • Email: claire.rinehart@wku.edu
  • Office: SH 2108
  • Phone Number: 270-745-6892
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/documents/rinehart_cv_2016.pdf
Naomi Rowland, M.S. University of Tennessee

Naomi Rowland, M.S. University of Tennessee
- Lab Coordinator, Biotech Center and Part Time Agriculture Instructor

  • Email: naomi.rowland@wku.edu
  • Office: EBS 3130
  • Phone Number: 270-745-6931
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/rowland_2017.pdf
Bruce Schulte, Ph.D. SUNY-ESF

Bruce Schulte, Ph.D. SUNY-ESF
- Department Head of Biology

Nilesh Sharma, Ph.D. University of Bihar

Nilesh Sharma, Ph.D. University of Bihar
- Instructor

  • Email: nilesh.sharma@wku.edu
  • Office: CH 34
  • Phone Number: 270-745-6593
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/documents/sharma_cv_2016.pdf
Michael Smith, Ph.D. University of Texas

Michael Smith, Ph.D. University of Texas
- Professor and Faculty Senate Representative (voting)

Ajay Srivastava, Ph.D. University of Alberta

Ajay Srivastava, Ph.D. University of Alberta
- Associate Professor and Faculty Senate Representative (voting)

Amanda Staples, B.S. Western Kentucky University

Amanda Staples, B.S. Western Kentucky University
- Lab Technician

Michael Stokes, Ph.D. University of Kansas

Michael Stokes, Ph.D. University of Kansas
- Professor

  • Email: michael.stokes@wku.edu
  • Office: EBS 3104
  • Phone Number: 270-745-6009
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/stokes_2017.pdf
Rostern Tembo, Ph.D. Bowling Green State University

Rostern Tembo, Ph.D. Bowling Green State University
- Instructor

  • Email: rostern.tembo@wku.edu
  • Office: CH 35
  • Phone Number: 270-745-6000
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/tembo_2017.pdf
Deborah Weisberger, M.S. Western Kentucky University

Deborah Weisberger, M.S. Western Kentucky University
- Associate Professor

  • Email: deborah.weisberger@wku.edu
  • Office: CH 36
  • Phone Number: 270-745-4974
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/documents/weisberger_cv_2016.pdf
Robert Wyatt, Ph.D. University of Georgia

Robert Wyatt, Ph.D. University of Georgia
- Associate Professor

  • Email: robert.wyatt@wku.edu
  • Office: CH 30
  • Curriculum Vitae: https://wku.edu/biology/cv_2017/wyatt_2017.pdf

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 4/24/18