Facebook Pixel Organizations | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

Organizations


It's True!... STUDENT SUCCESS depends on STUDENT INVOLVEMENT.

That's why the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences sponsors six preprofessional organizations and a national honor society in which a student may participate. These organizations offer leadership opportunities as well as exciting activities.

PREPROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS

Companions of Respected Elders (C.O.R.E.)

     Faculty Advisor: Dana Bradley, dana.bradley@wku.edu

Fashion, Inc.

     Faculty Advisor: Debbie Shivel, Deborah.shivel@wku.edu

     2017-2018 President: Imagine McCollum, kania.mccollum971@topper.wku.edu

     2017-2018 Vice President: Maria Parsons,

FCSEd

     Faculty Advisor: Dr. Kathy Croxall, Kathy.croxall@wku.edu

     2017-2018 President: Taylor Back, taylor.back295@topper.wku.edu

American Society of Interior Designers / International Interior Design Association at WKU

     Faculty Advisor: Sheila Flener, Sheila.flener@wku.edu

     2017-2018 President: Anna Berger, anna.berger325@topper.wku.edu

     2017-2018 Vice President: Rachel Hitch, rachel.hitch551@topper.wku.edu

National Association for the Education of Young Children

Student Council on Family Relations

Student Dietetic Association

     Faculty Advisor: Heather Payne-Emerson, heather.payne-emerson@wku.edu

     2017-2018 President: Chloe Dempsey, chloe.dempsey396@topper.wku.edu

     2017-2018 Vice Presidents: Taylor Peters, taylor.peters917@topper.wku.edu

                                                   Elizabeth Howard, Elizabeth.howard677@topper.wku.edu

U.S. Green Building Council at WKU

     Faculty Advisor: Sheila Flener, sheila.flener@wku.edu

     2017-2018 President: Anna Berger, anna.berger325@topper.wku.edu

     2017-2018 Vice President: Rachel Hitch, rachel.hitch551@topper.wku.edu

HONOR SOCIETIES

Phi Upsilon Omicron

     Chapter Advisor: Cindy Jones, cindy.jones@wku.edu

     Professional Project Advisor, Carrie Cox, carrie.cox@wku.edu

     Financial Advisor, Karen Mason, karen.mason@wku.edu

     2017-2018 President: Taylor Peters, taylorpeters917@topper.wku.edu

     2017-2018 Vice-President: Max Goldstein, max.goldstein277@topper.wku.edu

 

Choose an organization from above and contact the faculty advisor or officers to see what these organizations have to offer you!

Accreditations achieved within the Applied Human Sciences Department

Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) - Nutrition & Dietetic Undergraduate and Graduate programs

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) - Early Childhood Education Associate Degree

National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD) - Interior Design program

 


Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 3/22/18