Skip to main content
Skip to main content

WKU News

Hardin Planetarium to present shows on eclipse, Saturn

Hardin Planetarium to present shows on eclipse, Saturn

Attendance at WKU’s Hardin Planetarium has been running near capacity for the past two months as free public shows of Into The Shadow Of The Disappearing Sun have shared information about the Aug. 21 solar eclipse.

This rare and remarkable event will continue to be discussed at the planetarium, but during July the eclipse shows are being interspersed with Ring World: A Grand Finale, a new show about another event about to occur in our solar system.

Ring World: A Grand Finale tells the story of how we have come to learn so much about the amazing rings of Saturn. This spring, NASA's Cassini spacecraft began its the final chapter of its remarkable story of exploration of the beautiful ringed planet. Cassini has spent 13 years in orbit around Saturn, but the spacecraft is about to run out of rocket fuel and will no longer be able to adjust its course. To avoid the unlikely possibility of Cassini someday colliding with a moon that may potentially harbor life, NASA has chosen to safely dispose of the spacecraft in the atmosphere of Saturn. On Sept. 15, Cassini’s final images will be sent to Earth, then the spacecraft will send home in real time the data recording its fateful dive into the Saturn's atmosphere.

Ring World: A Grand Finale debuts at 7 p.m. July 6 with repeat presentations at 2 p.m. July 9 and 7 p.m. July 11. The eclipse show, Into The Shadow Of The Disappearing Sun, returns on July 13 then the two shows will rotate throughout July and early August.

Both shows are free and suitable for all ages. Note that the shows will begin on time, with no late entrance permitted. The Hardin Planetarium is located at the corner of College Heights Boulevard and State Street.

Ring World: A Grand Finale show times and dates:

  • Thursday, July 6          7 p.m.
  • Sunday, July 9             2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 11         7 p.m.
  • Sunday, July 16          2 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 20       7 p.m.
  • Sunday, July 23          2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 25         7 p.m.
  • Sunday, July 29          2 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 3        7 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 8          7 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 22        7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 24      7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Aug. 27         2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 29        7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 31      7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Sept. 3           2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Sept. 5          7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 7        7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Sept. 10         2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Sept. 12        7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 14      7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Sept. 17         2 p.m.

Into The Shadow Of The Disappearing Sun show times and dates:

  • Sunday, July 2     2 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 13   7 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 18    7 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 27   7 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 1    7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Aug. 6    2 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 10    7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Aug. 13     2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 15   7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 17   7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Aug. 20    2 p.m.

Contact: Hardin Planetarium, (270) 745-4044

Categories
All News  Now Viewing Category: All
Media Relations
President Caboni News
CEBS
CHHS News
Gordon Ford College of Business
Ogden News
PCAL
Academic Affairs
WKU Regional Campuses
Glasgow News
Etown & Fort Knox
Owensboro News
Transportation
The Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science in Kentucky
The Center for Gifted Studies
Police
Emergency Preparedness
Facilities
Housing & Residence Life
Student Activities and Organizations
Augenstein Alumni Center
Campus Activities Board
The Confucius Institute
Cultural Enhancement Series
DELO News
Department of Music
Department of Theatre & Dance
Development and Alumni Relations
Downing Museum
Downing Student Union
Hardin Planetarium
Health Services
Human Resources News
Instruments of American Excellence
International Student Office
Kinesiology, Recreation & Sport
Library News
Math News
Office of International Programs
Office of Research
Office of Sustainability
Parent's Association
School of Journalism & Broadcasting
Student Financial Assistance
Scholarships Student Financial Assistance
Student Employment
Student Government Association News
Student Research Council
Study Abroad
Van Meter Auditorium
WellU
WKU Educational Leadership Doctoral Program News
WKU Joint Admissions
WKU Parent and Family Weekend
Latest Headlines
WKU Forensics Team competes in tournaments at Ball State

The WKU Forensics Team traveled to Muncie, Indiana, to compete in two tournaments co-hosted by Ball State University and Illinois State University the weekend of Oct. 14-15.

Bo Matthews: WKU Glasgow's Volunteer of the Year

Superintendent Bo Matthews was honored as WKU Glasgow's Volunteer of the Year on Thursday, October 12, during WKU's 2017 Summit Awards at the Augenstein Alumni Center on WKU's main campus in Bowling Green.

Katherine Crider crowned WKU Homecoming queen

Katherine Crider of Dawson Springs was crowned WKU’s 2017 Homecoming queen on Saturday (Oct. 14).

Featured Articles
Katherine Crider crowned WKU Homecoming queen

Katherine Crider of Dawson Springs was crowned WKU’s 2017 Homecoming queen on Saturday (Oct. 14).

WKU recognizes top volunteers at Summit Awards

WKU recognized its top volunteers at the annual Summit Awards. Distinguished Service Medals to recognize the service of the University’s top volunteers were presented to Julie Harris Hinson, James G. Meyer and Linda S. Miller.

Robert Reich Visits Grise Hall for a Question & Answer Session with Students

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 
 Last Modified 5/2/17