Facebook Pixel CHHS Social Work Honor Society wins National Chapter Service Award | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

CHHS Social Work Honor Society wins National Chapter Service Award

  • Author: Jay Gabbard
  • Author: Friday, December 11th, 2015

Delta Mu Chapter (WKU) of Phi Alpha Social Work Honor Society recently won a National Chapter Service Award which was presented at the 61st Annual Program Meeting (APM) of the Council on Social Work Education, held in Denver, CO. The award, which came with a $1,000 travel scholarship and $500 cash prize, recognized the chapter's ongoing commitment to community service locally, regionally, and statewide. In addition to winning the service award, three members of WKU's Phi Alpha chapter (Jess Bertram '15 MSW, Kirsten Tarter '16 MSW, and Marion Murray '16 MSW) presented a poster summarizing the chapter's service activities that won first place ($500 prize) in the Phi Alpha APM poster contest.       
Phi Alpha, founded in 1962 at Florida State University, is the national honor society for social work students, with 440 chapters in the United States and abroad. Dr. Jay Gabbard, Phi Alpha Faculty Advisor at WKU, serves on a National Steering Committee for the organization.


First row-Matt Davis, Kellye McIntyre
Second Row: Marion Murray, Kirsten Tarter, Jessica Bertram, Laura Bain-Selbo, Dr. Patricia Desrosiers, Dr. Jay Gabbard
Back: Austin Griffiths

  Back to News


Latest Headlines

Featured Articles

View Archive

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 4/20/18