Facebook Pixel University Senate Meeting Agenda | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

University Senate Meeting Agenda

WKU Logo

University Senate Meeting
Thursday, January 19, 2017 -- 3:45 p.m.
Faculty House


Copy of Agenda

A.  Approve December Minutes
B.  Reports - part I (non-standing committee and advisory in section F):

1.  Chair – Kate Hudepohl

a.  Draft budget report

2.  Vice Chair – Julie Shadoan

3.  Secretary – Heidi Alvarez

C.  Committee Reports and Recommendations

1.  Graduate Council: Shannon Vaughn (Report posted; Endorsed by SEC)

2.  Undergraduate Curriculum Committee: Liz Sturgeon (Report posted; Endorsed by SEC)

3.  Colonnade General Education Committee: Marko Dumancic (Report posted; Endorsed by SEC)

4.  Academic Quality:  Ann Ferrell (No Report)

5.  Budget and Finance Committee:  Claus Ernst (Report posted)

6.  Faculty Welfare and Professional Responsibilities: Patti Minter (Report posted; Endorsed by SEC)

a.  Policy 1.1013 Consensual Relations Between Faculty and Students - Easier to Read Version

7.  Faculty Handbook Committee:  Margaret Crowder (No Report)

8.  Ad Hoc Committee of Senate Charter Revisions: (Draft Posted - 1st Reading)

Motion at October 2016 SEC meeting for the Senate Executive Committee to serve as the Committee as a whole to propose changes to and to revise the Senate Charter.

Three areas to address:

1.  Membership of at-large senators (from May 2016 motion requesting consideration of low #s in some colleges)

2.  Issue of GC standing committee chair (issue from 2015 charter revision that was agreed to but missed in charter revisions)

3.  Terms of office for complaint committee (issue identified by Shadoan and Miller)

D.  Old Business
E.  New Business

1.  Policy 1.1303 Sabbatical Leave

2.  Policy 1.1334 University Distinguished Professor

F.  Reports - part II

1.  Coalition of Senate and Faculty Leadership for Higher Education – Molly Kerby

2.  AAUP representative - Margaret Crowder

3.  Advisory:

a.  Faculty Regent – Barbara Burch
b.  Provost – David Lee
c.  SGA President – Jay Todd Richey

G.  Information Items

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 11/19/18