Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University

Biology Alumni and Student Updates


2014 Student Success

Graduate School Acceptances

Meredith Bartley – recently completed M.S. at the University of New Mexico and will be starting a PhD program at the University of Rhode Island
Bethany Coffey – PhD Programs - University of Hawaii at Manoa / Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Charles Coomer – MS Program in Infection & Immunity at University College London (on Fulbright Grant) & PhD Program in Virology at University of Oxford (NIH-Oxford/Cambridge Scholars Program)
Shilo Felton – PhD Program, North Carolina State University
Christopher Fields – MS Program in Biology, Western Kentucky University (Graduate Fellowship Recipient)
Nick Levis – PhD Program – University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (5-year PhD fellowship in the Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology)
Mary Newton – M.S. program, UNC Wilmington
Sara Wigginton – M.S. (University of Rhode Island)

Veterinary School Acceptances

Kristen Armstrong – Auburn University Vet School
Aaron Duggin – Auburn University Vet School
Regan Hertelendy – Auburn University Vet School
Kayla Pittman – Lincoln Memorial University Vet School
Eli Ernst – Ohio State University Vet School
Brittany Hagar – Lincoln Memorial University Vet School

Medical Technology School Acceptances

Courtney Broyles – Medical Technology Program, Owensboro
Jacob Hood – Medical Technology Program, Owensboro
Daniel Robinson – Medical Technology Program, Owensboro

Medical School Acceptances

Parker Ballentine – UofL, UT
Sara Buskill – KY-COM
Charles Coomer – UofL, UK
Addie Dodson – UofL
Mary Kate Greenwood – UK
Morgan Gruner – UofL, UK, Wayne State, Oakland, MSU, CMU
Daniel Jackson – UofL
Taylor Johnson – UofL
David Mauser – UofL
Kaleb Moore – KY-COM, UofL
Justin Pile – VOCM-SC, LMCOM
Cody Rich – LMCOM
Sarah Schrader – Cornell, Washington University
Suzanne Scott – UofL
Seth Sloan – UofL, UT
Adam Smith – KYCOM
Beau Swisher – KYCOM
Grant Turley – KYCOM
Dental School Acceptances
Shelby Bell – UofL
Bethany Burton – UK
Jacob Clark – UofL, UK
Hannah DeSpain – UofL
Sarah Goff – UK
Austin Huff - UofL, UK
Morgan Murrell – UofL, UK
JD Shadburne –UK
Shawn Stringer – UK
Taryn Thompson – UofL
Spencer Wright – UofL, UK

Optometry School Acceptances

Eric Fox – Indiana University

Physical Therapy School Acceptances

Adam Hyman – Physical Therapy Program - WKU

Awards and Honors – 2013/2014

Richard Dawson - accepted for a summer internship at the aquarium in Atlanta

Megan Laffoon, Goldwater Scholarship Recipient

Chad Coomer – Recipient of U.S. Student Fulbright grant to the UK to complete his master's degree in infection and immunity at University College London. Also accepted into the National Institutes of Health Oxford-Cambridge Scholars Program, which will allow him to pursue a doctorate in virology at the University of Oxford while conducting HIV research at Oxford and the NIH.

Gretchen Walch – Honorable Mention Goldwater Scholarship

Sarah Schrader – Recipient of Pearson Prize for Higher Education; U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholarship, NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Paul Fleischmann - Recipient of U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Greater Research Opportunity Fellowship.

Jonathan Hendrie - J. William Fulbright Program Recipient and recipient of a DAAD study grant for this summer.

Jordan Olberding – NSF Graduate Fellowship, Honorable Mention



Congratulations to the following students on their 2013 acceptance to professional school:

Dental School

Madison Beach – UK Dental School

Zachary Byrne – UofL Dental School

Brittany Evans – UK Dental School

Jessica King – UofL Dental School

Chelsea Larsen – IU Dental School

Jake Murley – UofL Dental School

Courtney Thompson – UK Dental School

Amanda Walden – UK Dental School

Medical School

Tyler Adams – VCOM DO School

Brett Austin – UK Medical School

Heather Barhorst – KYCOM DO School

Laura Bowman – KYCOM DO School (deferred)

Leah Frazier – UofL Medical School

Meliha Hrustanovic – UofL Medical School

John Holland – VCOM DO School

Rebekah Huffman – LMU DO School

Steven Milesko – KYCOM DO School

Sklyer Mosby – ROSS Medical School

Quang Nguyen – UofL Medical School

Cheryl Onwu – St James Medical School (Deferred)

Zachary Payne – KYCOM DO School

Dillon Pender – UofL Medical School

Amanda Pursell – UK Medical School

Joshua Rock – UK Medical School

Luke Sturgill – UofL Medical School

Adam Swiger – KYCOM DO School

Sarah Tariq – UofL Medical School

Megan Todd – UofL Medical School

Jeremy Webb – UofL Medical School

John Whitaker – UK Medical School

Lindsay Williams – UK Medical School

William (Matt) Wood – UofL Medical School

Medical Technology School

Emily Blakeman – Owensboro Health

Gavin Davis – Owensboro Health

Rahul Rasam – Owensboro Health

Optometry School

Celia Baker – Southern College of Optometry

Eric Westerman – Indiana University of Optometry

Pharmacy School


Physical Therapy School

Whitney Allen - WKU PT School

Devin Bell - WKU PT School

Lorelei Boone – WKU PT School

David Dahl – WKU PT School

April Ford – WKU PT School

Jacob Hicks – WKU PT School

Lauren McReynolds (Caudill) – WKU PT School

Hallie Pennington – UK PT School

Physician Assistant School

Elizabeth Ferrell – Lincoln Memorial University – PA School

Briana Anderson– Lincoln Memorial University – PA School

Veterinary School

Amanda Clemmons – St. George's Vet School

Jacqueline Elliott - Tuskegee Vet School

Tyler Gillenwaters - Auburn Vet School

Megan Hesson - Auburn Vet School

Adam Reynolds – Tuskegee Vet School

Brittany Sennett - Auburn Vet School

Jaron Thomas - Ross Vet School

Joshua Tyler – Mississippi Sate Vet Schol

Chelsea Wilson – Auburn Vet School


M.S. Graduates and where they’re headed:

Aaron Gingerich –PhD program in Infectious Disease, University of Georgia

John Clark - Ph.D. program in Biology at Texas A&M, Kingsville.

Victoria Gilkison – M.S. program in Biology, Western Kentucky University

Ashley McCloughan (Clark) - M.S./Ph.D. program in Biology at Texas A&M-Kingsville

Jorda Olberding – PhD program in Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Yale University

Cheryl Onwu – Masters in Public Health and Tropical Medicine, Tulane University

Mackenzie Perkins – Masters of Public Health, Western Kentucky University

Andrea Sejdic – M.S. program in Biology, Western Kentucky University

Josh Tyler – Postbaccalaureate Program, Mississippi State and Auburn


Note:  If you are a recent graduate of WKU's biology program and have any updates/changes/or additions to the above information, please email us at  Thank you!

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 9/24/14