Facebook Pixel School of Nursing Faculty and Staff | Western Kentucky University

School of Nursing Faculty and Staff

Dr. Dawn Garrett-Wright, PhD, CNE, APRN-PMHNP
Dr. Dawn Garrett-Wright, PhD, CNE, APRN-PMHNP
- Professor, BSN Program Coordinator

Dawn Garrett-Wright is an Associate Professor in the School of Nursing at WKU and coordinator for the BSN program as of July 1, 2023. She received a BSN (1998) and MSN with an emphasis in Nursing Education (2004) from WKU. Dr. Garrett-Wright received her Ph.D. in Nursing Science from the Vanderbilt University (2008).  She completed coursework for a certificate for certification as a Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner at University of Louisville and is Board Certified by ANCC. Dr. Garrett-Wright has taught at WKU in the ASN, BSN and Graduate Programs since 2002 and she is recognized by the National League for Nursing as a Certified Nursed Educator (CNE). Prior to beginning teaching, Dr. Wright worked in Public Health Nursing, Pediatrics, and Mental Health Nursing.

Dr. Wright teaches in both the Prelicensure and Graduate programs. She currently teaches Health Assessment, Mental Health Nursing, and a variety of elective courses including Camp Nursing and Complementary Health Care for undergraduate students. Dr. Garrett-Wright has taught several graduate courses including Theory/Foundations of Professional Nursing, Teaching in Schools of Nursing, and Clinical Teaching in Nursing.

She is an active member of the American Nurses Association, Kentucky Nurses Association, National League for Nursing, Kentucky League for Nursing, American Psychiatric Nurses Association and Sigma Theta Tau International. Her research interests include pediatric obesity, physical and mental health promotion and health literacy across the lifespan, and issues related to nursing education. Her community service focuses on vulnerable populations and includes work with the Center for Courageous Kids.

Dr. Garrett- Wright has Associate Graduate Faculty Status with the Graduate School and currently serves on the University Senate.

Back to Listing




Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 1/10/22