Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University

School of Teacher Education

Become A Teacher

Loading

Science and Mathematics Education

Become a Teacher

If you want to teach science or mathematics to middle school or high school students, check out our SKyTeach program, which provides special preparation in these areas. You will have two majors, one in Science and Mathematics Education (SMED) and one in a content area.

To be a middle school math or science teacher:
You must complete the Science and Mathematics Education major and either Middle Grades Mathematics (MGM) or Middle School Science (MSS). The degree you will earn will be the BS with double majors in SMED and either MGM or MSS. Your certification will be for Grades 5-8.

To be a high school math or science teacher:
You must complete the Science and Mathematics Education major and a major in the content area you wish to teach.  The degree you will earn will be the BS/BA with double majors in SMED and the content area you select. Your certification will be for Grades 8-12.  The content areas for which certification is available are Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Space Science, Mathematics, and Physics.

For more information about becoming a science or mathematics teacher, click here.

To talk with an advisor about Science and Mathematics Education, contact:
Ms. Karen Long, karen.long@wku.edu, 270-745-3900

To talk with an advisor for Middle Grades Mathematics (MGM), contact:
Dr. Hope Marchionda, hope.marchionda@wku.edu, 270-745-2961

To talk with an advisor for Middle School Science (MSS), contact:
Ms. Karen Long, karen.long@wku.edu, 270 745-3900

To talk with an advisor for Biology, contact:
Ms. Cassandra Cantrell, cassandra.cantrell@wku.edu, 270-745-2638

To talk with an advisor for Chemistry, contact:
Dr. Lester Pesterfield, lester.pesterfield@wku.edu, 270-745-6246

To talk with an advisor for Earth and Space Science, contact:
Dr. Fred Siewers, fred.siewers@wku.edu, 270-745-5988

To talk with an advisor for Mathematics, contact:
Dr. Hope Marchionda, hope.marchionda@wku.edu, 270-745-2961

To talk with an advisor for Physics, contact:
Dr. Richard Gelderman, richard.gelderman@wku.edu, 270-745-6203

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 
 Last Modified 9/24/14