Western Kentucky University

Ogden News

Hardin Planetarium to present ‘PlanetQuest’ March 9-April 17

Hardin Planetarium to present ‘PlanetQuest’ March 9-April 17

PlanetQuest: Discovering Worlds Around Other Stars opens March 9 at WKU’s Hardin Planetarium.

Show times are 7 p.m. Tuesday and Thursday and 2 p.m. Sunday through April 17.

"PlanetQuest: Discovering Worlds Around Other Stars" will be presented March 9-April 17 at WKU's Hardin Planetarium.

“PlanetQuest: Discovering Worlds Around Other Stars” will be presented March 9-April 17 at WKU’s Hardin Planetarium.

About the show: A new era in the exploration of the universe has begun. Less than 20 years ago, we Earthlings discovered the first alien solar system around a star like our own Sun. Since then we have used multiple methods to identify thousands of worlds around other stars — from scorching hot giants orbiting their stars in just a few days to planets orbiting in systems with more than just one star. New planets are being discovered at an exhilarating pace; bringing us closer to finding an Earthlike world — perhaps harboring life. Join us for an interactive presentation aiming at one of humanity’s oldest questions: Are we alone?

The 45-minute show, with time for questions at the end of the presentation, is free and suitable for all ages. Note that the show will begin on time with no late entrance permitted.

Show times and dates are:

  • Sunday, March 9                                         2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, March 11                                      7 p.m.
  • Thursday, March 13                                    7 p.m.
  • Sunday, March 16                                       2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, March 18                                      7 p.m.
  • Thursday, March 20                                    7 p.m.
  • Sunday, March 23                                       2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, March 25                                      7 p.m.
  • Thursday, March 27                                    7 p.m.
  • Sunday, March 30                                       2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, April 1                                          7 p.m.
  • Thursday, April 3                                         7 p.m.
  • Sunday, April 6                                            2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, April 8                                          7 p.m.
  • Thursday, April 10                                       7 p.m.
  • Sunday, April 13                                          2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, April 15                                        7 p.m.
  • Thursday, April 17                                       7 p.m.

Current show: Back to the Moon for Good ends its run on March 6.

Contact: Ronn Kistler, (270) 745-4044.

 Last Modified 7/23/13