Western Kentucky University

Degree Information


The department offers three degree programs: a Bachelor of Arts in Visual Studies [509], a Bachelor of Arts in Art History [613], and a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Visual Arts [514]. These programs vary in purposes, art course work requirements, and electives. Students should consult the Undergraduate Catalog, call the department, or visit its website for further clarifications of specific program requirements. Briefly, students pursuing a BA may choose a concentration in Studio, Art Education, or Art History. Students pursuing a BFA may choose a concentration in Graphic Design or Studio. Students in the BA studio concentrations may choose from ceramics, graphic design, painting, printmaking, sculpture or weaving. Students in the BFA may choose from ceramics, painting, printmaking, sculpture or weaving.

The department's degree programs are recognized by the following national and regional accrediting agencies, NASAD (National Association of Schools of Art and Design), NCATE (National Council of Accreditation of Teacher Education) and SACS (Southern Association of Colleges and Schools).



The Art Department offers three minors: Art [312], a 30-semester hour requirement, Art History [316], a 21-semester hour requirement, and Graphic Design for Advertising Majors [385], a 30-semester hour requirement.


 Last Modified 7/22/13