Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University

Media Relations

WKU Office of Research Recognizes Faculty/Staff at Annual Reception

WKU Office of Research Recognizes Faculty/Staff at Annual Reception

A number of Western Kentucky University faculty and staff were honored during an awards reception hosted by the Office of Research. External funding supports research, teaching, public service and creative activities initiated by faculty and staff at the university. The 2011 Recognition Reception, held on December 1, at the Kentucky Museum, acknowledged the recipients for their efforts in submitting grant proposals and/or receiving awards from federal, state, local, private and international sponsoring agencies.

“Research grants provide WKU with the ability to expand its curriculum and community activities,” said Nancy Mager, Director of Sponsored Programs. In Fiscal Year 2011 WKU received $22,955,803 in grants resulting from 195 awards. A total of 268 proposals were submitted with 72% being funded.

Members from the following college or division received recognition for having received the largest dollar amount in a single grant award: Dr. Marce Verzaro-O’Brien, College of Education and Behavioral Sciences, Training and Technical Assistance Center; Dr. Andrew Ernst, Ogden College of Science and Engineering; Ms. Linda Gerofsky, Education Television Services; Ms. Lucy Juett, College of Health and Human Services, South Central Area Health Education Center; Dr. Dan Myers, Gordon Ford College of Business, Department of Economics; and Mr. John Hagaman, Potter College of Arts & Letters, Department of English.

The most grant dollars awarded to a department was awarded to Dr. Marce Verzaro-O’Brien, Training and Technical Assistance Center; and the most awarded to a college was awarded to Dr. Sam Evans, College of Education and Behavioral Sciences.

This year five individuals were inducted into the 1 Million Dollar Club for having reached the milestone of $1 million or more in external awards during their tenure at WKU. The new inductees were Dr. Alexander Barzilov, Physics and Astronomy; Dr. Scott Bonham, Physics and Astronomy; Dr. Martha Day, School of Teacher Education; Dr. Denise Hardesty, Teacher Services; and Dr. Wanda Weidemann, Mathematics.

Nineteen individuals were recognized as first-time grant recipients: Ms. Chris Bixler, Small Business Development Center; Mr. Dale Brown, Academic Affairs; Dr. Craig Cobane, Honors College; Dr. Martha Day, School of Teacher Education; Dr. Julie Ellis, Department of Engineering; Ms. Sarah Gibbs, Student Disability Services; Ms. Nancy Givens, Center for Environmental and Sustainability; Dr. Darbi Haynes-Lawrence, Family and Consumer Sciences; Dr. Lynne Holland, Career Services; Dr. Mikhail Khenner, Mathematics and Computer Science; Qi Li, Computer Sciences; Ms. Kristie Lowry, Libraries; Dr. Eve Main, Nursing; Dr. Jason Polk, Geography and Geology; Dr. Bruce Schulte, Biology; Ms. Helen Siewers, Planning, Design & Construction; Dr. Steve Spencer, Kinesiology, Recreation & Sports; Dr. Ajay Srivastava, Biology; Dr. Beckie Stobaugh, School of Teacher Education.

All News  Now Viewing Category: All
School of Journalism & Broadcasting
Media Relations
Academic Affairs
Augenstein Alumni Center
Instruments of American Excellence
Emergency Preparedness
Department of Music
Department of Theatre & Dance
Library News
Office of Sustainability
Office of International Programs
Office of Research
Ogden News
WKU Greeks News
WKU Parent and Family Weekend
Parent's Association
Student Activities and Organizations
Scholarships Student Financial Assistance
Student Government Association News
Van Meter Auditorium
Teaching News
Study Abroad
Student Research Council
Student Employment
WKU Joint Admissions
International Student Office
Human Resources News
Cultural Enhancement Series
The Confucius Institute
Campus Activities Board
The Carol Martin Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science in Kentucky
Development and Alumni Relations
Downing Student Union
Health Services
Hardin Planetarium
News from The Center for Gifted Studies
Student Financial Assistance
Downing Museum
Etown & Fort Knox
Employee Wellness
Latest Headlines

PJ Graduate Austin Anthony, PJ Senior Brittany Greeson Place in Competition

Julia Link Roberts recognized by alma mater for distinguished work in gifted education

Julia Link Roberts was recognized for her contributions to the field of gifted education with an award given by her alma mater, the University of Missouri, March 13 in Columbia, Mo.

2015-2016 Faculty Staff Parking Changes

Changes are being made to Faculty / Staff parking

Featured Articles

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 9/24/14