Facebook Pixel School of Media Faculty and Staff | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

School of Media Faculty and Staff

Pam Johnson, Ph.D.

Pam Johnson, Ph.D.
- Professor

Executive Summary

1977 Joint Ph.D.: Mass Communication and Educational Psychology
1971 Master’s Degree: Journalism Major, Educational Administration Minor
1967 Bachelor’s of Science Degree: Journalism Major, Secondary Education Minor
All academic study at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin


• First Black women to be president and publisher of a general circulation newspaper in the United States, Ithaca (NY) Journal
• Interim Director, Engineering Minority Program Office, Cornell University
• COO of WestWorld Productions Inc., Computer Magazines, Beverly, Hills, CA
• Director/Professor, Western Kentucky University School of Journalism
• Dow Jones News Fund, WKU Director of Digital Training Programs for

• Wells College Board of Trustees, Aurora, NY, under two college presidents
• Hamilton College, Board of Trustees, Clinton, NY
• Laubach Literacy International, Board Member
Invited to the White House for a meeting with Mrs. Barbara Bush
• Cornell University Museum of Art, Board Member, Ithaca, NY
Member of the board of the Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art
• University of North Carolina, Advisory Board, Chapel Hill, NC
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
• Syracuse University, Advisory Board, Syracuse, NY
S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
• Fleet Bank, Board Member, Ithaca, NY

• Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY
• Arizona State University, Visiting Scholar, Phoenix AZ
• Kansas State University, Seaton Chair, Manhattan, KS
• Norfolk State University, Norfolk, VA
• University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI

• News Reporting and Writing
• Feature Writing
• Media Collaboration
• Electronic Technologies
• Media Diversity
• Gender Issues and the Media
• Media Management


• Black Enterprise Magazine, Cover Story
• Pam McAllister Johnson Day, Atlanta Georgia Presented the key to the city by the Mayor of Atlanta.
• Pulitzer Prize Judge – Three times
• Candace Award
Presented by the National Coalition of 100 Black Women.
• White House, Presidential Briefing and Receptions
• Missouri Award for Distinguished Service
• Association for Education in Journalism and Mass
Communications, Lifetime Service Achievement Award
• University of Wisconsin – Distinguished Alumni Award
• University of Wisconsin Afro-American Alumni Association
• University of Wisconsin – Ralph O. Nafziger Award
• Evanston Township Highschool-Distinguished Alumni Award, Evanston, IL
• Tompkins County Chamber of Commerce Leadership Award
• Eisenhower College of the Rochester Institute of Technology Spectrum Club
Black Leadership Award
• Delta Sigma Theta Achievement Award presented by the Syracuse, NY chapter.
• University of Missouri Multicultural Management Center- Co-founder
• The Aspen Institute Seminar for Executive Management
• Harvard University, Nieman Foundation

Back to Listing



The School of Media at WKU is ACEJMC accredited for majors in Broadcasting, Journalism and Photojournalism.



Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 9/23/19