Facebook Pixel School of Media Faculty and Staff | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

School of Media Faculty and Staff

Jeanine Howard Cherry, M.A.

Jeanine Howard Cherry, M.A.
- Instructor


Basic Radio Production
Basic News Writing
Survey of Writing for Television and Radio
Mass Communication Law and Ethics


  • WKYU-FM Bowling Green, KY:  Assistant News Director, Midday Producer, Anchor 1990-2004; Morning Anchor/Midday Producer, Anchor 1988-1993
  • WKCT-AM/WDNS-FM Bowling Green, KY:  Morning News Anchor/reporter/producer
  • WBGN-AM Bowling Green, KY:  News Director


  • B.A. Western Kentucky University - 1988
  • M.A. Western Kentucky University - 1998


Professional Activities

U.S Aid/InterNews January 2001-present: Trainer/Mentor/Host

  • Digital Audio Production Overview: Dr. Fahmi Ghazwi, Yarmouk University in Jordan. May, 2007; January 2007, Mansour Twal; The Radio Production Unit of the Princess Basma Youth Resource Center, 2006
  • Digital Audio Production Training Sessions, Dr. Mahmoud Shalabieh of Yarmouk University. School of Journalism and Broadcasting, WKU.
  • Radio Production/Use of Sound Workshop for Indonesian broadcast journalists, WKYU-FM
  • Basic News Writing Workshop for Indonesian broadcast journalists, WKYU-FM
  • Ethics Panel Discussion for Cambodian Station Managers, WKYU-FM
  • Assisted visiting journalists with story development, interviews and editing. WKYU-FM
  • Host family for Cambodian Station Managers, Egyptian Print Journalists WKYU-FM

InterNews is an international, non-profit organization designed to enhance tolerance and understanding by supporting independent media in emerging democracies.

Dow Jones Newspaper Fund June, 2008

  • Online Editing Workshop

Trainer/Coach: Adobe Audition, Audacity, Broadcast News Writing, June 2007
Associate Director: Online Editing Workshop, 2007

Kentucky High School Media Institute Summer Workshop

  • 2008 Adobe Audition Workshop/Basic Radio Production
  • 2007 Adobe Audition Workshop/Basic Radio Production

Professional memberships

  • Online News Association
  • Broadcast Education Association

Awards Received

  • 2007 Woman of Achievement Award for Education-College,
  • Bowling Green Human Rights Commission.
  • Public Radio News Directors Incorporated Award
  • Daily Magazine Program, First Place, 1989;
  • Daily Magazine Program, Second place, 2000
  • Oscar in Agriculture, University of Illinois, 1994

Kentucky Broadcasters Association

  • Golden Tower Award 1999
  • Meritorious Award, 1991, 1996
  • Community Affairs Award 1996
  • Best of the State 1995,
  • Best News Story 1990, 1992, 1993, 1995

Kentucky AP Broadcasters Association Awards 1989-2004

  • Enterprise/Investigative Reporting
  • Best Newscast
  • Best Continuing Coverage
  • Best Feature
  • Public Service Reporting
  • Best Use of Sound
  • Breaking Spot News Coverage
  • Best Sports Reporting
  • Major Contributor 1990-1994 1996, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2004

Jesse Stuart Memorial Awards 1994, 1996, 1998
Kentucky Education Association School Bell Awards 1989, 1990
Communication Award, Special Olympics, KY/Area-Five 1999
Communication Award, Warren County Conservation District, 1990

Back to Listing



The School of Media at WKU is ACEJMC accredited for majors in Broadcasting, Journalism and Photojournalism.



Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 9/23/19