Facebook Pixel School of Media | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

School of Media

School of Media Facts

The Western Kentucky University School of Media's reputation for excellence and tradition of success continue to attract outstanding faculty and top students from across the nation. The School boasts 26 Pulitzer Prize winners among its alumni and faculty while WKU students consistently place near the top of the overall William Randolph Hearst Competition and have finished first 22 of the past 26 years in the photojournalism category of that contest.

As one of only seven Programs of Distinction in Kentucky the School's mission is enhanced through support for the Center for 21st Century Media, the Continuing Media Education Institute and the Kentucky High School Media Institute. The School also features the Mountain Photography Workshops, WWHR national student radio station and professional television and photography studios. Students are afforded extracurricular opportunities including our award-winning student newspaper, yearbook, newscast, and the Emmy Award winning public television station and public radio network. The School also provides students with numerous internship, workshop and international experiences. We are dedicated to making sure that our students have every opportunity to become leaders in their chosen professions. 

 undergrad stats

 P-Majors combined

 retained in same major

retained in same department

retained in same college

retained at wku

graduated from same major

graduated from same dept

graduated from same college

graduated from wku

For WKU Employment Data Click Here.

For further information regarding WKU Facts visit: http://www.wku.edu/instres/fact_book.php


Accreditation Complaints Statement


The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication invites all students and other persons to report incidents in which they can present evidence that a journalism/mass communications unit has violated accreditation standards.

The School of Journalism and Broadcasting at Western Kentucky University, like all other accredited units, is required to inform all students of this invitation.

Such reports must be made in writing to:

Christopher Callahan, Chair, Accrediting Committee
Dean and University Vice Provost
Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Arizona State University
555 N. Central Ave., Suite 302
Phoenix, AZ 85004-1248
(602)496-5012 Fax: (602)496-5116
(Term expires 2017)

MC maintains records of all complaints it receives and their resolution. The School of Journalism and Broadcasting is required to maintain records of student complaints and their resolution.

A copy of the accreditation standards is available in the department office.

For more information, click the link below to go directly to the ACEJMC Homepage.




The School of Media at WKU is ACEJMC accredited for majors in Broadcasting, Journalism and Photojournalism.



Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 9/23/19