Facebook Pixel Psychological Sciences and Psychology at WKU | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

Psychological Sciences and Psychology at WKU

Psychology and Psychological Sciences at WKU

"Our goal is make sure that everyone understands that psychology is the science of behavior, cognition and emotion. Everyone should recognize psychology as a STEM (Science-Technology-Engineering-Mathematics) discipline. Everyone should associate psychologist with scientist."  

--Stephen Breckler, Ph.D., APA Science Directorate

psychological science research


WKU now has two departments with programs in psychology. The creation of the Department of Psychological Sciences in November 2013, brings WKU into better alignment with the American Psychological Association's vision for the future of psychology. 

Here are some key features of the two departments:


Psychological Sciences Department

Ogden College of Science & Engineering

Courses have PSYS prefix

Bachelor of Science degree

BS in Psychological Science

Master of Science degree

MS in Psychology with concentrations:

*Industrial-Organizational Psychology

*Psychological Science

Psychology Department

College of Education

Courses have PSY prefix

Bachelor of Arts degree

BA in Psychology

Master of Arts degree in Psychology

Specialist degree

    • EdS in School Psychology



For more information about programs, faculty and courses in the Department of Psychological Sciences, please see the list of links in the right sidebar. 

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 3/29/18