Recycle and Restore Overview
In the context of OU Campus, the recycle bin has the following functionality available:
- Move to Recycle Bin: In other words, moving a file to the recycle bin is recycling it. A file moved to the recycle bin can be restored from the recycle bin.
- Restore: A file can be restored from the recycle bin.
- Delete: Files can be permanently deleted from the recycle bin after being moved to the trash. A directory can only be deleted, as no recycle functionality is available for a directory.
Moving a File to the Trash
- From the Content > Pages view, hover over the menu bar for a file and from the File menu choose Move to Recycle Bin.
Alternatively, a page can be selected by clicking the adjacent checkbox, and Move to Trash is made available.
- The resulting dialog warns that the selected file and any derivatives on production will be deleted. Pages on the staging server must be recycled before they can be permanently deleted. A recycled page or file can also be restored from the recycle bin if necessary. After a page has been restored, it must be re-published to the production server. When a page is recycled on the staging server, the published derivatives are automatically deleted from production servers. Likewise, a file can also be solely deleted from the production server by navigating to the Production button, and deleting it. The recycle bin functionality does not extend to these servers. Once a file is deleted from the production server, it cannot be restored. It can be re-published from the main file on the staging server with any routine form of publishing, such as publish, site publish, directory publish, or scheduled publish.
- Click Move to Recycle Bin. The files are moved to the trash.
Note that a page or file checked out to another user or that has been scheduled for an action by another cannot be moved to the recycle bin.
Multiple files can be recycled with the same action by selecting the the checkbox in the header row of a list or each checkbox adjacent to the file name and clicking Move to Recycle Bin. Note that when performing a multi-object selection that includes directories, only Delete is available as directories cannot be recycled. Using a multifile section can be useful to simulate a directory recycle, as in this manner, all files within a directory can be selected for moving to the recycle bin, which will then allow the files to be restored, if necessary.
Note when selecting multiple files and a page or file checked out to another user or that has been scheduled for an action by another is included in the selection, Move to Recycle Bin is not available as it is not possible to recycle those pages.
The resulting dialog enumerates how many files will be moved to the trash and warns that derivative files on production will be deleted.
About the Recycle Bin
The recycle bin is only for files on the staging server. Files deleted from the production server that do not have a direct counterpart on the staging server are deleted permanently and are not recoverable. When a file is sent to the recycle bin on the staging server, the file and all of its version history as well as its path and access rights are all moved to the recycle bin. All files that were created on the production server from the file being sent to the recycle bin are permanently deleted from the production server.
The recycle bin is for files only, as directories can not be sent to the recycle bin. Deleting a directory will permanently delete all files and folders contained in the directory from both the staging and production servers. This is the same function as when there is no recycle bin configured for a web site.
Multiple files of the same name and (and path) can be sent to the recycle bin. They are all listed in the recycle bin but with a -# (e.g., file-1.ext, file-2.ext) appended to the subsequent files that are moved to the recycle bin.
The recycle bin is not meant to be used as an archive. If a file is sent to the recycle bin, and later the directory is deleted, if the file is selected to be restored, the original path to the file is recreated and the file moved back. None of the access properties that may be necessary to publish the page will exist as they are stored with the directory, and the original directory was deleted. The access settings and/or directory variables will need to be set by the administrator in order to manage or publish the file.
Directories cannot be recycled on staging or on a production server. Directories that are deleted are permanently deleted. The multiple file recycle function can be used to simulate a directory recycle. Select all files within a directory with the checkbox located above the view of the folder structure and click the Recycle Bin icon in the same area to recycle the files. Then the directory can be deleted. Recycling files within a directory in this method allows the files to be individually restored if needed.
To delete the directory from the Content > Pages view, hover over the menu bar for the directory and from the File menu choose Delete.
Alternatively, a directory can be selected by clicking the adjacent checkbox, and Delete is made available.
Restoring a Page from the Recycle Bin
A singular file can be restored from the trash or multiple files can be restored.
- To view the contents of the trash, hover over the Content Menu.
- The Trash screen is displayed. The screen can be sorted on the following columns: file type,
Name, Original Location, and Delete Date. The list can also be filtered by name.
- Hover over the menu bar for the file and in the Options column choose Restore.
Alternatively, a single file or multiple files can be selected by clicking the adjacent checkbox, or multiple files can be selected by clicking the checkbox from the top row.
- Click Restore.
A Bit More About Restore
When a file is restored from the recycle bin, the file, its version history and file permissions are moved back to the original location on the staging server. The file must be published to return the file to the production server. If a file of the same name and with the same directory path as a recycled file has been created, it should be renamed or moved before restoring.
A file can be restored or permanently deleted from the recycle bin, or the entire recycle bin can be emptied.