Checked Out/In Overview
File status indicators reflect the state of an OU Campus page and other files. When a user edits a page by clicking an edit button, the page is automatically checked out to that user. Likewise, when the user publishes a page it is automatically checked back in. A user might also manually checked out a page as this makes other page options available. The file status indicators help make clear why a page is not available for editing as well as who has checked out a page or scheduled an action. These icons are shown on many of the screens that display listings of content, as well as the File Navigation sidebar and can be shown in the My Current Pages gadget if so configured.
For example, on the Pages list view (Content > Pages), the page status indicators are found in the Status Column and reflect whether a page is checked out, assigned in an approver workflow, or has a scheduled action associated with it. As shown in the image below, a lit light bulb indicates a page is checked out to the currently logged in user and a red lock indicated the page is checked out to another user. The unlit light bulb indicates the file is checked in and available to check out.
Checking Out a Page
A page may be checked out from the following locations by clicking the unlit light bulb icon:
- Pages list view
- File Navigation sidebar
- Gadgets sidebar > My Current Pages gadget (if enabled)
- Dashboard > My Current Pages dashboard gadget (if enabled)
- Preview and Edit views
Regardless of the method used to check out a page, the status is updated accordingly.
Example of Check Out Icon in Pages List View
Example of Check Out Icon in Edit View
Example of Check Out Icon in File Navigation Sidebar
Example of Check Out Icon in Gadgets Sidebar
|An unlit light bulb indicates that the page is checked in and can be checked out for editing by any user with the proper permissions.|
|A lit light bulb indicates that the page is checked out to the current user (the individual currently logged into, working in, and viewing OU Campus).|
|A red lock indicates that the page is checked out to another user. It is possible to hover over the lock to see to whom the page is checked out.|
|A green calendar icon is the status indicator for a publish scheduled by the current user. The calendar icon can be clicked on by an administrator or the individual who scheduled the page to be published in order to change the publish date and time, or to cancel the publish completely.|
|A red calendar icon is the status indicator for a publish scheduled by another user. The calendar icon can be clicked on by an administrator or the individual who scheduled the page to be published in order to change the publish date and time, or to cancel the publish completely.|
|A red circle with a line through it is the status indicator for an expire scheduled by the current user or another user. A scheduled expire can be removed or rescheduled by the user who scheduled the expire. An administrator can check in the page which effectively removes the schedule expire. This icon is displayed to the user who has scheduled the expiration and all other users.|
Checking In a Page
It is valuable to note that pages stay checked out to the user until the user:
- Sends the page to another user for review.
- Publishes the page.
- Checks the page back into the system by clicking on the lit (yellow) light bulb.
Behaviors of Checked Out Pages>
If a page is checked out by another user, the current user may still perform the following actions; even though the page is locked:
- Edit access settings
- Edit reminders
- Preview the page
- View the log
- Copy the file
Example of Available Actions
Make sure to check the page back in when finished editing the page so it can be made available to other users.