Deleting Assets Overview
Deleting an asset from OU Campus does not delete an asset from the subscribing pages. To avoid broken asset links after the asset has been deleted from the OU Campus, it is recommended to locate all subscribing pages and deleting the asset link out of the page itself.
Steps to Delete an Asset
- Navigate to the Assets list view by selecting Content > Assets from the global navigation bar.
- Locate the asset to be deleted. Hover over File on the asset row and choose Delete. Assets are not recoverable from the recycle bin, even if the recycle bin is enabled for a site.
- A dialog will appear to confirm the delete. Assets are not recoverable, and deleting assets may affect pages that subscribe to them. To confirm, click Delete.
Pages Containing Deleted Assets
If a page contains an asset that is deleted, it now includes a link to an asset that no longer exists. This means that the asset wrapper or asset tag is still shown in the editor; however, the usual preview or preview message is replaced with a notification that the asset is broken. The message indicates that the asset is broken and includes the asset ID, the site, and the asset name.
The asset tag must be manually deleted from the pages. These pages can be found using the Broken Pages report inside of the Required Actions report. For more information about broken pages:
Broken Asset on Live Site
Broken Asset in WYSIWYG editor