Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Ogden News

WKU Office of Research recognizes faculty, staff at annual awards reception

WKU Office of Research recognizes faculty, staff at annual awards reception

A number of WKU faculty and staff were honored during an awards reception hosted by the Office of Research. External funding supports research, teaching, public service and creative activities initiated by faculty and staff at the university. The 2011 Recognition Reception, held Dec. 1 at the Kentucky Museum, acknowledged the awardees for their efforts in submitting grant proposals and/or receiving awards from federal, state, local, private and international sponsoring agencies.

“Research grants provide WKU with the ability to expand its curriculum and community activities,” said Nancy Mager, Director of Sponsored Programs. In Fiscal Year 2011 WKU received $22,955,803 in grants resulting from 195 awards. A total of 268 proposals were submitted with 72 percent being funded.

Members from the following colleges or divisions received recognition for having received the largest dollar amount in a single grant award: Dr. Marce Verzaro-O’Brien, College of Education and Behavioral Sciences, Training and Technical Assistance Center; Dr. Andrew Ernst, Ogden College of Science and Engineering; Linda Gerofsky, Education Television Services; Lucy Juett, College of Health and Human Services, South Central Area Health Education Center; Dr. Dan Myers, Gordon Ford College of Business, Department of Economics; and John Hagaman, Potter College of Arts & Letters, Department of English.

The most grant dollars awarded to a department was awarded to Dr. Marce Verzaro-O’Brien, Training and Technical Assistance Center; and the most awarded to a college was awarded to Dr. Sam Evans, College of Education and Behavioral Sciences.

This year five individuals were inducted into the 1 Million Dollar Club for having reached the milestone of $1 million or more in external awards during their tenure at WKU. The new inductees were Dr. Alexander Barzilov, Physics and Astronomy; Dr. Scott Bonham, Physics and Astronomy; Dr. Martha Day, School of Teacher Education; Dr. Denise Hardesty, Teacher Services; and Dr. Wanda Weidemann, Mathematics.

Nineteen individuals were recognized as first-time grant recipients: Chris Bixler, Small Business Development Center; Dale Brown, Academic Affairs; Dr. Craig Cobane, Honors College; Dr. Martha Day, School of Teacher Education; Dr. Julie Ellis, Department of Engineering; Sarah Gibbs, Student Disability Services; Nancy Givens, Center for Environmental and Sustainability; Dr. Darbi Haynes-Lawrence, Family and Consumer Sciences; Dr. Lynne Holland, Career Services; Dr. Mikhail Khenner, Mathematics and Computer Science; Qi Li, Computer Sciences; Kristie Lowry, Libraries; Dr. Eve Main, Nursing; Dr. Jason Polk, Geography and Geology; Dr. Bruce Schulte, Biology; Helen Siewers, Planning, Design & Construction; Dr. Steve Spencer, Kinesiology, Recreation & Sports; Dr. Ajay Srivastava, Biology; Dr. Beckie Stobaugh, School of Teacher Education.

Contact: Gordon Baylis or Nancy Mager, (270) 745-6733

Latest Headlines
WKU fundraising unit changes name, announces award, recognizes gift

On National Philanthropy Day, WKU’s Division of Development & Alumni Relations was rebranded as Philanthropy & Alumni Engagement; Laura Turner Dugas was named the 2017 Philanthropist of the Year; and a gift for diversity initiatives was announced.

WKU CCSJ to host campus conversation about climate change

WKU Center for Citizenship and Social Justice (CCSJ), in partnership with WKU Office of Sustainability, is set to host a campus conversation about climate change at 4 p.m. Thursday (Nov. 16) at the Mahurin Honors College & International Center.

WKU Learn and Earn Advisory Board holds inaugural meeting

The inaugural meeting of the WKU Learn and Earn Advisory Board was held Nov. 9 at the offices of Learn and Earn Business Partner SOKY Jobs.

Featured Articles
WKU Forensics Team wins debate tournaments at Illinois State

WKU’s Forensics Team divided into three groups and traveled to Lebanon, Illinois; Normal, Illinois; and Jefferson City, Tennessee, to compete in six tournaments Nov. 11-12.

WKU GEO Faculty/Staff/Students Attend Two National Conferences

Students, faculty, and staff from the Center for Human GeoEnvironmental Studies (CHNGES) and Department of Geography & Geology recently attended national conferences in Arkansas and Washington state.

Statue of Rep. Jody Richards unveiled on campus

A bronze statue of longtime WKU supporter and Kentucky State Rep. Jody Richards of Bowling Green was unveiled on WKU’s main campus Monday (Nov. 6) in Jody Richards Hall.


Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 3/6/17