Facebook Pixel WKU presents faculty, staff awards at convocation | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

WKU presents faculty, staff awards at convocation

  • Author: WKU News
  • Author: Friday, August 18th, 2017
WKU presents faculty, staff awards at convocation

Caption: Michael P. Crowe Jr., director of the Office of Student Conduct, received the 16th Spirit of WKU Award.

The annual faculty and staff awards were presented Friday morning at WKU’s 2017 opening convocation.

16th Spirit of WKU Award

Michael P. Crowe Jr., director of the Office of Student Conduct, received the 16th Spirit of WKU Award, which recognizes an individual who represents WKU in a distinguished manner and dedicates his or her career with passion consistent with the vision, mission and the spirit of the University.

“This year’s recipient has spent countless hours as an advocate for WKU students,” Provost David Lee said. “No student is treated as ‘less than’ regardless of the circumstances that brings them to his office, be it conduct related, concern related, or just a casual interaction that led to the connection. He makes a difference in the lives of the students he comes in contact with, both at the scholastic and personal level.”


7th annual President’s Award for Sustainability

Dr. Nicole Breazeale, associate professor of Sociology at WKU Glasgow, was the recipient of the seventh annual President’s Award for Sustainability, which honors an individual who exhibits excellence in supporting WKU’s commitment to sustainability.

“Dr. Breazeale is an expert in engaging students, faculty, staff and community organizations to work together to improve society and promote a culture of stewardship,” Provost Lee said. “Her most impressive effort at advancing sustainability is how she has integrated major community-based projects into her ‘Sociology of Agriculture and Food’ classes by partnering with various grassroots organizations such as the Community Farm Alliance to support small farmers and promote a just food system in Kentucky.”

Faculty Awards

University Faculty Award recipients were: Dr. Marko Dumancic, assistant professor of History, University Award for Teaching; Dr. Amy Brausch, associate professor of Psychological Sciences, University Award for Research and Creativity; Dr. Gayle Mallinger, associate professor of Social Work, University Award for Public Service; Dr. Dawn Bolton, associate professor of Management, University Award for Student Advisement; and Diana McQuady of the School of University Studies, University Award for Part-time Faculty.

University Distinguished Professor

Dr. Albert Meier, professor of Biology, was appointed University Distinguished Professor for 2017-18. The program is designed to recognize faculty members who have served the University with distinction and have compiled an outstanding record of achievement in teaching, research and service.

Staff Excellence Awards

Staff Excellence Award recipients were: Rachel Goodman, director of Campus and Community Events, Administrative Professional Non-Faculty; Julie Harris, graduate admissions specialist in the Graduate School, Administrative Support; Julie Taylor, information technology consultant, Skilled/Technical/Paraprofessional; Cierra Waller, coordinator of student services, Student Advisement Non-Faculty.

Contact: Public Affairs, (270) 745-4295

  Back to News


Latest Headlines

Featured Articles

View Archive

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 4/20/18