Skip to main content
Skip to main content

WKU News

Warren County Retired Teachers Association Scholarship Fund receives $10,000

Warren County Retired Teachers Association Scholarship Fund receives $10,000

Photo caption: From left: Jessica Carver and Donald Smith, College Heights Foundation; Dr. Martha Jenkins and Mrs. Romanza Johnson, Warren County Retired Teachers Association.

On May 23, Dr. Martha Jenkins and Mrs. Romanza Johnson represented the Warren County Retired Teachers Association by giving more than $10,000 in donations to the Scholarship Fund bearing the association’s name. This generous gift will get the Warren County Retired Teachers Association Scholarship Fund to a $20,000 endowment level, which will award a $1,000 scholarship for the 2017-2018 academic year. 

The Warren County Retired Teachers Association established this scholarship fund within the College Heights Foundation at WKU in 2012 to support deserving education students who demonstrate the potential and desire to become outstanding teachers.

The fund’s first award will be given to Emily Leon, who is a graduate of Greenwood High School and will be a senior at WKU. She is studying elementary education and will receive $1,000 toward her college education and preparation to become a future educator. Leon’s career goals include becoming either an English or history teacher in a public school in Kentucky.

Warren County Retired Teachers Association Scholarship recipients must be full-time WKU students who have been accepted into the Teacher Education Program and are graduates of a public or private high school in Bowling Green/Warren County. Additionally, candidates must submit an essay explaining financial need and desire to be a teacher, a list of university activities, a reference from a college professor, and a reference of their character to the Warren County Retired Teachers Association Scholarship Committee. Being selected as the first recipient for this award is a testament to Leon’s integrity, compassion, academic excellence, and commitment to the service and education of others.

Contact: Jessica Carver, (270) 745-2342 or


All News  Now Viewing Category: All
Media Relations
President Caboni News
Gordon Ford College of Business
Ogden News
Academic Affairs
WKU Regional Campuses
Glasgow News
Etown & Fort Knox
Owensboro News
The Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science in Kentucky
The Center for Gifted Studies
Emergency Preparedness
Housing & Residence Life
Student Activities and Organizations
Augenstein Alumni Center
Campus Activities Board
The Confucius Institute
Cultural Enhancement Series
Department of Music
Department of Theatre & Dance
Development and Alumni Relations
Downing Museum
Downing Student Union
Hardin Planetarium
Health Services
Human Resources News
Instruments of American Excellence
International Student Office
Kinesiology, Recreation & Sport
Library News
Math News
Office of International Programs
Office of Research
Office of Sustainability
Parent's Association
School of Journalism & Broadcasting
Student Financial Assistance
Scholarships Student Financial Assistance
Student Employment
Student Government Association News
Student Research Council
Study Abroad
Van Meter Auditorium
WKU Educational Leadership Doctoral Program News
WKU Joint Admissions
WKU Parent and Family Weekend
Latest Headlines
10K Classic This Saturday

October 21st

WKU's Mary Lloyd Moore appointed to advisory council

Mary Lloyd Moore, executive director of WKU’s Suzanne Vitale Clinical Education Complex, has been appointed to the Advisory Council on Autism Spectrum Disorders by Kentucky Gov. Matt Bevin.

Kentucky Live presents Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist Joel Pett

Joel Pett, publitzer prize-winning editorial cartoonist will be speaking at the next Kentucky Live event on October 19.

Featured Articles
Katherine Crider crowned WKU Homecoming queen

Katherine Crider of Dawson Springs was crowned WKU’s 2017 Homecoming queen on Saturday (Oct. 14).

WKU recognizes top volunteers at Summit Awards

WKU recognized its top volunteers at the annual Summit Awards. Distinguished Service Medals to recognize the service of the University’s top volunteers were presented to Julie Harris Hinson, James G. Meyer and Linda S. Miller.

Robert Reich Visits Grise Hall for a Question & Answer Session with Students

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 5/2/17