Facebook Pixel EASY STEPS TO ENSURE A SMOOTH STUDENT TRANSFER | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content


  • Author: Julia Johnson, Transfer Advisor - WKU Transfer Center
  • Author: Wednesday, March 1st, 2017

The Transfer Center at Western Kentucky University (WKU) strives to ensure transfer students have a seamless transition from their previous institution. Located in the Academic Advising and Retention Center (AARC), the Transfer Center is the one-stop shop assisting students with transfer admission, credit evaluation, advising, and much more.

A transfer student has completed 24 earned college hours with an overall cumulative GPA of 2.0. Students with less than 24 earned hours are held to regular admission requirements.

To get the transfer process started, students should apply to the university and send official transcripts from all previous universities attended. To apply, please visit our website at www.wku.edu/apply. Students applying for financial aid, should complete or update Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) information to include WKU. Students also have the opportunity to schedule an advising appointment with one of our transfer advisors. For your convenience, WKU has transfer advisors located at all four WKU campuses in Bowling Green, Elizabethtown-Fort Knox, Glasgow, and Owensboro.

The WKU transfer advisors are equipped with the knowledge to assist students in the transfer process. Our transfer advisors can complete unofficial degree audits to assist in understanding how a student’s coursework will transfer into their degree program at WKU. We also have a transfer equivalency database that students can use as a resource in determining credit equivalencies.

In addition to advising services, WKU and the Transfer Center has partnered with several area community colleges to help make the transition from community college to WKU. This program is called our Joint Admissions program. Joint Admissions simply means a student is admitted to both the community college and WKU while working toward completion of the community college degree. We currently have eleven Joint Admissions partner schools: Bluegrass Community & Technical College, Elizabethtown Community & Technical College, Henderson Community College, Hopkinsville Community College, Ivy Tech Community College – Southwest, Jefferson Community and Technical College, Madisonville Community College, Owensboro Community & Technical College, Somerset Community College, Southcentral Kentucky Community & Technical College and Volunteer State Community College. Some of the benefits of our Joint Admissions program are: on-site transfer advising, an assigned departmental academic advisor, fixed or “locked in” catalog and degree plan, and access to student support services on WKU’s campus.

In order to apply for the joint admissions program, students should be enrolled in one of our partner schools (with one or more academic semesters remaining). When completing the WKU application for admission, students will indicate they would like to participate in our Joint Admissions program. The student will then be prompted to select the Joint Admissions partner school and enter their community college student identification number (if applicable). Joint Admissions students should apply for the current academic term to ensure the “locked in” catalog term. The student should then continue to complete the application for admission.

The content for this post is provided by The Transfer Center at WKU, located on the 2nd floor of the Downing Student Union in Room 2135. Our staff works diligently to ensure a smooth transition for all transfer students, so please feel free to utilize our office as a resource. For additional information, please visit our website, contact us by phone at (270) 745- 2178 or by email at transfer@wku.edu

  Back to News


Latest Headlines

Featured Articles

View Archive

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 4/20/18