Facebook Pixel WKU SCHOOL OF JOURNALISM & BROADCASTING EARNS ACEJMC REACCREDITATION | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content


  • Author: Vicki S. Bagwell, (270) 745-5834, vicki.bagwell@wku.edu
  • Author: Monday, May 9th, 2016

BOWLING GREEN, Ky. (May 9, 2016) – Western Kentucky University’s School of Journalism & Broadcasting (SJ&B) earned reaccreditation Friday, May 6, from the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC).

The SJ&B is one of only three ACEJMC-accredited journalism schools or departments in Kentucky. SJ&B majors included in the reaccreditation review were Advertising, Broadcasting, Journalism, Photojournalism and Public Relations.

“Upholding a 37-year tradition of accreditation is important to SJ&B faculty and staff,” said Dr. Loup Langton, SJ&B director. “We are continuously focused on effective learning opportunities to serve our majors preparing for careers in a changing media environment.”

The site team, composed of faculty from other ACEJMC-accredited universities, visited campus in November 2015. For the three-day site review, the team attended classes, met with SJ&B faculty and staff and other WKU majors, and collected information and opinions from student groups and a cross-section of SJ&B majors.

 “Recognition by an independent organization, like ACEJMC, reinforces our high standards of academic excellence at WKU and Potter College,” said Dr. Lawrence W. Snyder, Dean of Potter College of Arts & Letters (PCAL). SJ&B is one of 12 PCAL academic units.  

ACEJMC currently has 115 fully accredited programs in areas of journalism and mass communications at colleges and universities in the United States, Puerto Rico and outside the country.

The vote took place during the Accrediting Council’s meeting in Chicago. SJ&B was found in compliance in all nine standards, including: mission, governance and administration; curriculum and instruction; diversity and inclusiveness; full-time and part-time faculty; scholarship: research, creative and professional activity; student services; resources, facilities and equipment; professional and public services; and assessment of learning outcomes.

For more information, contact Dr. Loup Langton at (270) 745-4144.

About WKU School of Journalism & Broadcasting

SJ&B is housed in Mass Media & Technology Hall on WKU’s main campus. Launched as the Department of Journalism in 1976, majors print journalism and photojournalism were first accredited three years later. In 1986, the majors of advertising and public relations were first accredited. The department was reaccredited in 1992 and 1998. In 2004, the reconfigured School of Journalism & Broadcasting was reaccredited for majors in advertising, broadcasting, news/editorial journalism, photojournalism, and public relations, all of which were renewed unanimously in 2010.


The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC) is the agency formally recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) for accrediting programs for professional education in journalism and mass communications in institutions of higher learning.

The structure for evaluating and accrediting journalism and mass communications programs was established in 1945, when the American Council on Education in Journalism was formed. Its name was changed to the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications in 1980. The Council originally was an association of journalism education and newspaper organizations. Its membership now includes national and international associations representing newspapers, broadcasting, advertising, photojournalism, public relations, professional societies, and education in journalism and mass communications.

  Back to News


Latest Headlines

Featured Articles

View Archive

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 4/20/18