Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Music Wall of Fame

Music Wall of FameMusic Wall of Fame

The Music Wall of Fame

Since 1997, the Department of Music has selected either an alumni or a former faculty member to honor them for their distinguished careers. This event has been a part of a Homecoming concert, a band concert or the annual faculty chamber ensemble recital, Autumn Collage. Correspondingly, a framed photograph with biography for each recipient has been hung on the WALL OF FAME, located on the third floor of the Ivan Wilson Fine Arts Center, across from the Department of Music Office.

Since its inception, the honoree has been invited to be a part of the induction ceremony at a concert, been presented with the plaque, and appreciated by the audience at large. The Department of Music Wall of Fame committee is charged with the selection of each year's recipient(s). Through the years, he selection committee has been chaired by only two faculty members: John Carmichael (Florida State University alum) and Wayne Pope (University of South Carolina). Department of Music Heads who have served during this period have been John Duff (Michigan State University), Joseph Stites (University of Illinois) and Mitzi Groom (Florida State University). Potter College Dean has been David Lee (The Ohio State University). It is with a great deal of pride that the Department of Music continues this annual tradition.

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 9/24/14