Facebook Pixel Yearbook Mark of Excellence Awards | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

Yearbook Mark of Excellence Awards

The annual Mark of Excellence Yearbook Awards competition is held each fall in order to accommodate both spring and fall delivery books. Winners are announced during a ceremony as part of the annual Media Scholars Day at WKU.

General Rules

  • Only 2018-19 yearbooks will be judged.

  • DEADLINE: All entries must be submitted by Friday, Oct. 25, 2019, at 4 p.m. Central Time. Books needing to be mailed in for overall categories must be postmarked by that date.

  • Yearbooks may be picked up at the conclusion of the Journalism Scholars Day Program Friday, November 22. Books will not be mailed back.

  • The WKU chapter of SPJ and the Kentucky High School Media Institute reserve the right to publish portions of any entries for educational purposes.

  • At least three entries must be received in each category for judging to take place, so there is a possibility that some categories may not be judged.

  • All decisions are final and entries that do not meet the requirements will be disqualified.


Individual Categories

  1. Sports Spread
  2. Student Life Spread
  3. Academic Spread
  4. Organizations Spread
  5. Division Page Spread
  6. Candid Feature Photo
  7. Sports Action Photo
  8. Feature Story

Overall Categories (require a book to be mailed)

  1. Cover Design
  2. Overall Yearbook Layout/Design
  3. Overall Yearbook Theme Development
  4. Overall Yearbook Advertising
  5. Best Overall Yearbook


Past Winners

2019 (Excel Spreadsheet)    2019 (PDF with images of winning work)    2019 Judging Comments

2018 (Excel Spreadsheet)    2018 (PDF with images of winning work)

2017 (Excel Spreadsheet)

2016 (Excel Spreadsheet)

Sam Oldenburg, KHSMI Coordinator | samual.oldenburg@wku.edu | 270-745-3055

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 11/25/19