Skip to main content
Skip to main content

School of Journalism & Broadcasting News


BOWLING GREEN, Ky. -- Journalism Scholars Day, a 42-year tradition at WKU, attracted 500 Kentucky high school journalism students and more than 20 media advisers from 18 schools across the state to campus Friday, Oct. 24.

The four-hour conference included a scholarship writing contest and the Mark of Excellence yearbook awards ceremony as well as breakout sessions with topics ranging from design and photography to feature writing and the future of radio taught by WKU faculty and students as well as journalism professionals.

For two Kentucky high school students, the conference was more than just a learning opportunity.

Madison Bonzo, a senior from Washington County High School, Springfield, and Elissa Youart, a senior from Meade County High School, Brandenburg, won the on-site writing competition. They both earned a $500 scholarship to attend WKU in fall 2015.

Retired WKU journalism professor and former College Heights Herald adviser, Bob Adams, facilitated the writing contest, which required students to write a news story, self-edit and submit it in less than an hour, like a real newsroom.

Fourteen schools participated in the Mark of Excellence Yearbook Contest competition awards ceremony. Best overall winner in the A-AAA Division (100 to 1100 students) was the Rosecast of Assumption High School, Louisville. Best overall winner in the AAAA Division (1100 students and above) was the Crimson of DuPont Manual High School, Louisville. (Awards list: 2014 Mark of Excellence yearbook award winners.)

The conference goal was to encourage excellence in high school media classes. It also provided high school students with the opportunity to increase their knowledge and skills.

Journalism Scholars Day attendees came from Ballard High School, Bowling Green High School, Butler County High School, Butler Traditional High School, Elizabethtown High School, Fern Creek Traditional High School, Franklin-Simpson High School, Jackson County Middle School, Jeffersontown High School, LaRue County High School, Lexington Christian Academy, Logan County High School, Meade County High School, Somerset High School, South Warren High School, Warren East High School, Washington County High School and Western Hills High School.

About Journalism Scholars Day

Journalism Scholars Day, coordinated by Charlotte Turtle, was co-sponsored by the School of Journalism & Broadcasting, the Kentucky High School Media Institute, WKU’s chapter of Society of Professional Journalists, and the College Heights Herald and Talisman.

Originally called High School Press Day, the conference was renamed Journalism Scholars Day in the late 1980s. Having a day devoted to high school journalism is a WKU tradition that dates back to the 1970s. A component of the 21st Century Media Program of Distinction at WKU, the Kentucky High School Media Institute is funded by Kentucky’s Council on Post-Secondary Education Regional Excellence Trust Fund. The Institute’s primary goal is to support and supplement scholastic journalism endeavors in Kentucky.  Loup Langton, Ph.D. is the director of WKU’s School of Journalism & Broadcasting.  

Latest Headlines
A Gallery Show - WITNESS

No Featured Articles for this category

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 9/25/14