Facebook Pixel International Year Of... | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

International Year of Bosnia and Herzegovina Planning Committee 

The IYO Planning Committee, comprised of faculty with knowledge of and experience in the target region as well as a strong service record at WKU, serves to build the framework for each IYO in advance of its implementation. Committee members make a two year commitment (one year of planning plus one ear of implementation) and meet regularly throughout the planning year. During the implementation year they coordinate IYO programming and offer courses with IYO country content, actively supporting the IYO and encouraging engagement across campus.

Brent Bjorkman, M.A., Folk Studies and Anthropology 

Jerry Daday, Ph.D., Sociology

Marko Dumancic, Ph.D., History 

Jay Gabbard, Ph.D., Social Work 

Chris Groves, Ph.D., Geography and Geology 

Soleiman Kiasatpour, Ph.D., Political Science 

Roger Murphy, Ph.D., Political Science 

Jean Neils-Strunjas, Ph.D., Communication Sciences and Disorders 

Denis Hodzic, Student 

Lilian Nellans, Student 

Nerman Peimanov, Community member  

"I have very much enjoyed serving on the IYO Bosnia and Herzegovina planning committee. It is a privilege to help promote the rich cultural heritage of Bosnian-Americans as well as their significant contributions to Bowling Green and the larger community. I have been inspired by the creativity, wisdom, and passion of the committee, and I look forward to helping make this incredible schedule of events a reality in 2017-2018." 

Jay Gabbard, Ph.D., Social Work

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 1/9/19