Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Holly Hudnall

Holly Hudnall

Thesis track, 2nd year graduate student




Holly is from Bowling Green, originally. She was born less than 5 miles from campus. In fact, her mother was going to Western when she was born, so she's been on this campus off and on all her life. She got her Bachelor's degree in English and the Allied Language Arts at WKU in 2007. Later, she went on to get secondary teaching certification in English in 2009. Holly worked for The Medical Center as a Pharmacy Technician for the last 5 years.


Holly has always been interested in people's stories. "I love what people have to say and how they say it. I am really interested in the whole culture of knowledge that gets transferred outside of "institutional" means. I have a huge family, and I think a lot about the things that I learned, from my grandparents, and my parents, and those things were so important in knowing how to navigate culture, but you cannot find them in one single book, and they don't really teach them in school."

Holly loves that the field is so broad, and encompasses so much knowledge, and that you can study any interest you could possibly have in some manner or another, through the view of Folklore.

"I like public folklore, I like teaching, sharing knowledge is something I'm very passionate about. I love school, so I can see myself working on a PhD, even if I'm getting a little long in the tooth for it"

Fun Factoids:

"I have an absolutely fantastic man in my life, named Todd. He lives in Wilmington, Delaware (and is one of the reasons I love to travel.) Here at home, I have a yellow lab named Max, and projects that never cease to be finished. My mom and dad and younger brother all live near me, about 3 miles from my house, and are a huge part of my life, as is my enormous extended family and circle of friends."

"I love to read, and I do a bit of creative writing. I love to travel. I like to shoot pool, have drinks and dinner with friends, spend time with my family and my dog, find remodeling projects- things at yard sales or on the side of the road. I love music, too."

"I've officially been attending classes here since 1992—almost 20 years ago. Wait, that means I have been "in college" for over half my life now! How utterly fascinating!"

"I am a huge Harry Potter fan, and I try to host a few 'Potterthon's during the year. I have a recipe for butterbeer, and have a pumpkin pastry contest to see who can bring the tastiest pumpkin pastry dessert (either sweet or savory). And I usually try to hostess a Halloween party because it is my favorite holiday."


If you were given a couple million what would you do with it? "Pay off student loans, finish school, take a trip to Italy, and buy a house on a beach somewhere to go write a book."

What did you want to be when you grew up? "I had no real idea, and I still don't. Some things never change."

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 9/24/14