Facebook Pixel Essay Contests | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

Essay Contests

The WKU English department is sponsoring writing contests in literature, composition, and creative writing for Kentucky high school students. The English department will invite finalists, their teachers, and family to campus for a reception and ceremony on February 6, where they will be recognized. The winners will receive scholarships if they choose to major or minor in English at WKU and cash prizes whether or not they attend WKU. First Place: $500 Scholarship and $200 cash; Second Place: $300 Scholarship and $100 cash; Third Place: $200 Scholarship and $50 cash. The winners' schools will receive $50 contributions to their PTA funds. Applications and essays are due January 22.

Please follow the links at the right for more detailed information about each contest, the writing prompts, and the submission link. 

Read about last year's contest and winners here: https://www.wku.edu/news/articles/?articleid=6213&view=article


essay 2018 ceremony

Department Head Dr. Hale speaking at the First Annual WKU Essay Contest Awards Ceremony


essay finalists

Department Head Dr. Hale with Spring 2018 essay contest finalists

From left to right, top to bottom: Harris Gregory, Tristan Houchens, Dr. Rob Hale,  Jennifer Owen,

Zavier Logsdon, Hannah Beltz, Hayley Watson, Rachel Bomar, and Katelyn Bewley









Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 11/27/18