Facebook Pixel Diversity & Community Studies - In the News | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

Diversity & Community Studies - In the News

October Spotlight

Saundra Ardrey

Dr. Saundra Ardrey of the Political Science and African-American Studies departments at WKU has on-going research in women of the African diaspora’s political participation. For this work, she has traveled to Ghana, Tanzania, and Raleigh, NC.  Read more...


2018 Scholarship/Award Winners

DCS Ella Baker Memorial Scholarship Winners: Tyneshia Carter, Jordan Frodge, Essence Mask, and Hannah Martin


Gender & Women's Studies 2018 Scholarship/Award Winners:

Catherine Coogan Ward Feminist Action Award - Kristina Arnold

Seneca Falls Personal Empowerment Award - Savannah Molyneaux

Catherine C. Ward Scholarship - Jordan Frodge

Valere Scott Scholarship - Jordan Frodge

Esther Fund Graduate Scholarship -Katharine Quince

Creative Writing Awards - Undergraduate - Natalie Turner

Creative Writing Awards - Graduate - Melissa Helton

Creative Writing Awards - Graduate - David Haydon


The University annually recognizes outstanding contributions by faculty members in the areas of Teaching, Research/Creativity, Public Service, Student Advisement, and Part-Time Teaching. 

University College

            Cheryl Hopson (Diversity & Community Studies) – Research/Creativity Award

Cheryl HopsonPhoto by WKU

Students designingMarch For Our Lives article WKU 88.9

March poster March For Our Lives Herald Article
BG Daily News March Article

42nd Annual National Council for Black Studies Conference

CSJ Minor, Alexa Hatcher awarded Fuse grant spring 2018

WNKY video about celebrating International Women's Day


Tune in to WBKO's Safety & Justice the topic of Deliberative Dialogue at WKU

Deliberative Dialogue image

Herald article on Deliberative Dialogue at WKU


Dr. Cheryl Hopson has a new chapbook out called Fragile.

Dr. Cheryl Hopson chapbook cover

DCS News and Events

Dr. Saundra Ardrey was selected for a 2017-2018 Fulbright U.S. Scholar grant to South Africa from July 2017 to June 2018. In consultation with University of Limpopo Division of Social Sciences, Dr. Ardrey's Fulbright year will include teaching modules that focus on Women of the African Diaspora, curriculum review/development of the Limpopo Division of Social Sciences, and research on the political behavior of women of the African diaspora through in-depth one-on-one personal interviews.

Dr. Saundra Ardrey


  • The Barbara Burch Award for Faculty Leadership in Civic Engagement was established in 2014 to honor exemplary faculty leadership in advancing the civic learning and engagement of undergraduate students and advancing the work of AASCU’s American Democracy Project. This year (2016) it was awarded to two recipients, Elizabeth Bennion and Molly Kerby(Read more)

           Molly ADP Award


2017 Scholarship/Award Winners

DCS Ella Baker Scholarship Winners: Natalie Turner, Leslie Dobbins, Darinda Reddick, Courtney McLaughlin, Dillon McCormick, Francisco Serrano


Gender & Women's Studies 2017 Scholarship/Award Winners:

Catherine Coogan Ward Feminist Action Award - Grayson Hunt

Seneca Falls Personal Empowerment Award - Leslie Dobbins

Catherine C. Ward Scholarship - Margaret Sullivan

Valere Scott Scholarship - Ava Fergerson

Esther Fund Graduate Scholarship -Chloe Cesler

Creative Writing Awards - Undergraduate - Sam McClain

Creative Writing Awards - Graduate - Lena Ziegler

Facebook art

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 12/10/18