Facebook Pixel CHHS News | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content


CSD Faculty Member and Student Receive Recognition at State Convention

  • Author: Tuesday, April 28th, 2015

Janice Smith, instructor in the Communication Sciences and Disorders Department, received the Johanna B. Hancock Award at the annual Kentucky Speech-Language-Hearing Association (KSHA) Convention in February.  The award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding dedication and service to KSHA as a member of the executive council.  Janice currently serves as KSHA’s treasurer and co-chair of the quarterly state publication, The Communicator.  Janice has devoted a large amount of time to the organization while also completing her dissertation research, teaching, and serving as a faculty mentor for numerous students pursuing research endeavors.

Elizabeth Ebelhar, graduate assistant in speech-language pathology, was recognized at the KSHA Convention as the recipient of The Bev Stanley Award.  The Stanley, a $2,000 scholarship awarded to students demonstrating excellence in graduate studies in communication sciences and disorders, is given to one student from the Commonwealth.  Elizabeth is also employed by the Michelle P. Waiver Program and provides support for a student with a rare genetic syndrome.  She has been extensively involved in WKU’s Habitat for Humanity Campus Chapter and served in several leadership roles.  Upon graduation, Elizabeth plans to become a traveling speech and language therapist providing services in high-risk areas.   


Janice Smith      Elizabeth Ebelhar

           Ms. Janice Smith                               Ms. Elizabeth Ebelhar

  Back to News



Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 1/9/18