# GORDON FORD COLLEGE OF BUSINESS BUSINESS EXECUTIVE ADVISORY COUNCIL



# Minutes February 17, 2012 11:30 a.m. – 2 p.m. Carroll Knicely Conference Center Room 113

Business Executive Advisory Board members present included Helen Bradley, Ron Bunch, Randy Capps, D.C. Clement, Spencer Coates, Mark Crothers, Chad Davis, Tim Earnhart, Vince Foushee, Richard Gladden, Jim Ising, Keith McGregory, Joe Natcher, Bob Owsley, Steve Preston, Ron Sowell, Peter Steger, Don Vitale, Greg Wassom, Scott Whitehouse, Lisa Williams, and Rick Wilson, Chairperson. Members of the college leadership team present included Jeff Katz, Michelle Trawick, Steve Wells, Chris Brown, Jeff Butterfield, Robert Hatfield, Zubair Mohamed, and Rick Shannon.

Dr. Katz opened the meeting and welcomed everyone. He introduced President Gary Ransdell and Provost & Vice President Gordon Emslie for brief WKU updates.

Dr. Katz gave an overview of the Gordon Ford College of Business: Yesterday, Today, & Tomorrow.

Dr. Katz and Mr. Rick Wilson presented the role of the council and the membership duties. Mr. Wilson opened discussion for nominations for committees. The following committees were formed.

# **Employer Needs**

This committee will focus on retention of students and overall recommendations from employers on the needs of graduates.

- 1. Zubair Mohamed
- 2. Ron Bunch
- 3. Keith McGregory
- 4. Chad Davis
- 5. Pete Steger

Marketing and Branding of the Gordon Ford College of Business

- 1. Rick Shannon
- 2. Tim Earnhart
- 3. Dick Gladden
- 4. Jim Ising
- 5. Scott Whitehouse

#### Student Recruitment & Placement

This will include scholarships and the mentorship program.

- 1. Bob Owsley
- 2. Michelle Trawick
- 3. Pete Steger
- 4. Chad Davis

### **Financial Resources**

- 1. Chris Brown
- 2. Greg Wassom
- 3. Keith McGregory
- 4. Jeff Butterfield

# Civic Engagement

This committee will focus on community outreach for faculty and students.

- 1. DC Clement
- 2. Lisa Williams
- 3. Joe Natcher
- 4. Krist Schell
- 5. Rick Shannon

# Facilities

- 1. Vince Foushee
- 2. Michelle Trawick
- 3. Steve Preston
- 4. Ron Sowell

# **By-laws Revision**

- 1. Randy Capps
- 2. Mark Crothers

# Nominating Committee

- 1. Rick Wilson
- 2. Randy Capps
- 3. Anderson Hostetler
- 4. Don Vitale

The advisory council received a motion from Mr. Bob Owsley to elect Ms. Glenda Ford as Honorary Chairperson of the Council. Mr. Spencer Coates made a second and the council agreed unanimously.

Mr. Pete Steger made a motion to elect Mr. Don Vitale as vice-chair of the Executive Advisory Council. Dr. Zubair Mohamed made a second and the council agreed unanimously to elect Mr. Vitale.

Dr. Katz reviewed upcoming future events. The Hays Watkins Visiting CEO Lecture will take place on March 29 at 3 p.m. in Grise Hall Auditorium. A reception will be held the night before at the Sloan Convention Center. The Gordon Ford College of Business Awards Banquet is set for Friday, April 27, 2012. The next Business Executive Advisory Council meeting will be scheduled for a Friday morning in October, followed by an afternoon golf scramble.

The meeting ended at 2 p.m.