Western Kentucky University

International English-language Media

International English-language Media for Comparison to USA Media

Following is a list of various media outlets for the purposes of comparison to USA media. Hearing a variety of points of views on topics is a good way to develop critical thinking and analysis skills.

Thanks to Barbara Pinson, English, for providing the most comprehensive set of links.

Europe

British Broadcasting Service http://news.bbc.co.uk/ Searchable.

Der Spiegel http://www.spiegel.de/international/ Germany

France 24 http://www.france24.com/en/

The Copenhagen Post, http://www.cphpost.dk/ Denmark. Searchable.

The Prague Post, http://www.praguepost.com/ Czech Republic. Searchable.

Athens News, http://www.athensnews.gr/ Greece. Searchable.

North & Central America

Amandala, http://www.amandala.com.bz/ Belize. Searchable.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation http://www.cbc.ca/ Searchable.

A.M. Costa Rica http://www.amcostarica.com/ Searchable.

Guadalajara Reporter http://www.theguadalajarareporter.com/ Mexico. Searchable but requires subscription.

South America

Buenos Aires Herald, http://www.buenosairesherald.com/ Argentina Searchable but only 1 paragraph of article.

The Rio Times, http://riotimesonline.com/# Brazil 

Business News Americas, http://www.bnamericas.com/ Searchable.

Journal Peru, http://journalperu.com/ Searchable.

Asia

NHK World English, http://www3.nhk.or.jp/daily/english/. Japan

Oh My News, http://english.ohmynews.com/ Searchable Archive from 2004-2010. New site is Oh My News International http://international.ohmynews.com/ South Korea

The Hindu, http://www.thehindu.com/ Searchable.

China Daily http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/ Searchable. The official newspaper of the government.

Press TV (Iran) http://www.presstv.ir/

Al-Jazeera http://www.aljazeera.com Qatar-based satellite news channel covering the Arab-speaking world. Searchable.

Tehran Times http://www.tehrantimes.com Iran

The Jerusalem Post http://www.jpost.com/ Israel. Searchable.

The Jordan Times http://www.jordantimes.com Jordan. Searchable.

Africa

All Africa http://allafrica.com/ The continent of Africa. Searchable.

Mail & Guardian Online http://www.mg.co.za/ South Africa. Searchable.

East African Standard http://www.eastandard.net/ based in Kenya. Has Search box but I couldn't get it to work.

afrol news http://www.afrol.com/countries/central_african_republic Central African Republic

Al-Ahram http://weekly.ahram.org.eg/index.htm Egypt. Searchable.

Daily Nation http://www.nation.co.ke/ Kenya. Searchable but must join.

Oceania

The Australian http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/ Searchable.

Cook Islands Herald http://www.ciherald.co.ck/ Cook Islands

New Zealand Herald http://www.nzherald.co.nz/

Tonga Broadcasting Commission http://www.tonga-broadcasting.net/ Tonga

 Matangi Tonga Online http://matangitonga.to/ Tonga

 

For additional links to newspapers worldwide (many of which have at least some content in English), go to Nettizen http://www.nettizen.com/newspaper/

A list of World newspapers in English is at http://www.world-newspapers.com/ They aren't all newspapers, however or may be non-native papers based in the country (e.g., Washington Post-Ecuador). This list tells something about the papers, e.g., are the government papers.


The Faculty Center for Excellence in Teaching
facet@wku.edu -- Phone (270) 745-6508 -- Fax (270) 745-6145.
Location: 1783 Chestnut Street, Bowling Green, KY 42101.
Mailing Address: 1906 College Heights Blvd #11095, Bowling Green, KY 42101-1095.
Page created date: c2007; Last modified: March 15, 2013.
Site created: July 1996. All contents © since 1996.

This page is in compliance with Section 508 and W3C Priority-I guidelines.
If you find it to be inaccessible, please contact the Webmaster with the URL.

 Last Modified 7/19/13