Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University

OU Campus - Self-Help

Versions Overview

A unique version of a page is saved through the automatic version control system every time a page is published. A backup version of a page can also be created at will with the use of the Save Version button. It can be useful to create a permanent version or backup of the page before extensive editing. It is also important to note that any version descriptions or publish notes added at the time of page publish are shown in the Description column.

The Versions screen shows this list of saved versions of a page. It can be accessed from the folder structure or while previewing or editing a page. Before navigating from editing a page to viewing versions, the page should be saved. The Versions screen:

  • Shows the number of versions saved for the page
  • Shows a sortable list of versions, which includes the revision number for the page, the date it was saved, the page author, the version description given with the save or publish, and other options
  • Allows for comparing the current staging version to the current production version
  • Provides a method for saving another version of the page
  • Allows for reverting to a previous version of the page 

Example of Versions Screen

Versions Screen


Saving a New Version

Although a unique version of a page is saved in the OU Campus automatic version control system every time a page is published, users can also create a version at any time. For example, after editing and saving a page several times, a user may wish to create a permanent version or backup of the page before moving on with further edits such as a find and replace. When editing a page, the Save Version button is available for this purpose. The Save Version button is also available in Preview mode.

  1. To save a version of a page, either:
    • Preview a checked out page, or enter into the Edit mode of a checked out page. Click on the Save Version button in the Page Actions Toolbar. 
      Save Version Button on Page Actions Toolbar
    • Enter the Pages List view and check out the desired page. Hover over the Review menu and select Save Version
      Save Version in Content > Pages
  2. This opens the Save Version dialog. If so desired, click the linked current state text to see a preview of the page as it exists on staging.

      Dialog for Save Version

  3. Although optional, it is recommended to enter a bit of descriptive text for the version. This can be viewed from the Versions screen and can be a useful clue in the future if it is necessary to determine that a page should be reverted and to which version it should be reverted.
  4. Click Save Version. A success message is displayed briefly.

    Successful Version Message


Navigating to Versions

From the Folder Structure

The Versions screen can be accessed from the Pages list view of the site. 

  1. Navigate to the Pages list view and check out the desired page.
  2. Hover over Review on the page row and choose Versions. This displays the Versions screen.

    Versions Option in Content > Pages


From Preview or Edit

The Versions screen can also be accessed while in Preview or Edit mode, or while editing a page with the WYSIWYG Editor. Note that the page must be checked out to the current user.

  1. Check out a page and view the page in Preview or Edit mode.
  2. While viewing the checked out page, click the Versions button. This displays the Versions screen.

    Versions Button


Filtering Versions

The Versions list can be filtered by entering characters in the Filter field. The filter is relevant to the Revision, Author, and Message columns, and items with matching character strings are displayed in the list. The rest are hidden until the filter is removed, which can be accomplished by clicking the circle-x icon. Filtering can be used to help locate a specific version of a page.

Filter Text Box


Comparing Versions

The compare feature includes the ability to compare different versions of a page. Options of the feature include the capability to show or hide includes and to compare the rendered page or the source code for the page. The current version of the page can be compared with previous version or with the production version. When compared with other versions a source code comparison is rendered and includes files are included.

Comparing with Production Version
  1. From the Versions screen click Compare Current to Live.

    Compare Current Version to Live Button

  2. The comparison is shown for the rendered page in the default mode. Information about the compare will display above the rendered page. 
    Version Compare
  3. If so desired, click Hide Includes to hide any include files that are part of the rendered page.
  4. Additionally, if it is required to view a comparison of the source code, click Source to view a comparison in source code mode.

    Options for Comparing Current Version to Live 

    Options for Comparing Current to Live


Comparing with a Previous Version
  1. Locate the previous version that is desired. The different versions can be scrolled through, or a version number may be entered to jump directly to that version.

  2. From the Versions screen, navigate to the row for the page version and hover over Compare. A user may select from here to compare the page as is, without includes, or in source mode. By default, the page previews with includes. The page comparison view is displayed.

    Options for Comparing Versions

For more information about the color coding in comparing and examples, see: Compare


Sorting Versions

Page versions can also be sorted by clicking any of the available columns:

Revision: The default sort is reverse numerical with revision 1 showing at the bottom of the sorted list

Save Date: Date last saved

Author: Shows the user that performed the page action

Message: Shows the version description text that was entered when the version was saved

Options: Three options are available: View, Compare, and Revert. Additionally, from the view menu a user can choose to view the version of the page or the source of the page version.

Revisions Menu


Viewing a Revision

From the Versions screen, a version of the page can be viewed and the source can be viewed. These views of a page version are provided in a separate browser window or tab.

Revisions Menu


Reverting to a Version

The Versions screen includes the ability to revert to a previous version of a page.

  1. From the Versions screen, hover over the row for the version and click Revert.

    Revert Drop Down from List View

  2. The confirmation dialog is shown.

    Click the Revert Icon

  3. Click Revert.
  4. A success message shows to which version the page was reverted.

    Success Message after Reverting  

    Note: The page must be published to the production web server to make it live on the World Wide Web.

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 
 Last Modified 9/10/14