Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University

OU Campus - Self-Help

Expire Overview

It is possible to schedule a page to expire on a specific date and time. When expiring a page, the available options depend on the type of file on the staging server, as well as the user level. The expire option is available to all users with the ability to publish.

Keep in mind that pages can also be recycled on the staging server or deleted from a production server. Recycled pages can be restored and republished. Deleted files are permanently deleted. Also, users can delete a file from a production server or publish target without affecting the original file on the staging server. Navigate to the file that should be deleted, and switch to the production or publish target tab. Clicking the delete icon for the file and confirming the action removes the file from the server. Keep in mind that if the original file on staging is republished, for example, with a directory or site publish, then file(s) will be published to the appropriate servers.


Schedule Expiration

A page can be scheduled to be expired, from the folder structure view under Content > Pages. Hover over the desired page and select Expire under the Publish drop-down. 

Pages List from Publish dropdown

This will open a dialog with options for the scheduled expire. Scheduling a content expiration allows users to schedule one of three expiration events:

  • Replace: Selecting this option will schedule to replace the file with the contents of another. To use this, click the Choose Replacement File text and select the replacement file from the resulting file chooser. This does not have an effect on the other page.
    Scheduled Expiration for Replace
  • Redirect: Selecting this option will schedule the file to redirect all visitors to a different page. The To field requires a URL, or other valid absolute path. The second field specifies the delay interval (in seconds) before a visitor is redirected to the new page. This field defaults to 0 seconds. The final text area allows for a message to be displayed until the redirect takes place.   Important Note: Redirect is not available for PCF files.
    Scheduled Expiration for Redirect
  • Delete: Selecting this option will schedule to delete the file on both production and staging servers. This option should be used with caution. 
    Scheduled Expiration Dialog for Delete

As well, a notification can be set to sent to the current user or to another user, usually one who has been involved in the approval workflow of the page. The notification can be sent within the CMS to the user's Inbox, or the Also Email Me option can be selected to send an email in addition to the internal OU Campus message. A subject line is required, and message can be added to the notification. 

Important Note: Expiring files have site-wide effects. Consider all potential impacts and make all necessary backups before proceeding with expiring a page.

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 
 Last Modified 9/24/14