Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University

IT Division - OU Campus - Self Help

Reverting Files

Revert allows you to restore any previously published version of a page, or include a file, that could affect multiple pages.

Every time you publish a page, OU Campus creates a copy of the page, a version stored in a special way that allows you to "revert".  To view the list of all versions of a page, check out the page, and click the revert icon.

A list of previous versions are numbered, dated, and if a message was left at the time the page was published, these messages are listed as well. Representative icons indicate whether the version was created by a standard "publish" action, or by a scheduled publish action, or through a manual "Back Up" action.

Please watch our video tutorial or download the PDF of Step By Step Guide for further assistance.

Step By Step Guide
  1. After checking out the desired file, you can revert two different ways.  The first way you can revert is on the Page List View with the Revert icon Revert Icon.  The second way you can revert is from the Split Pane View.  Just click on the Revert button. (Please Note: If the file is not checked out you will not see the revert option in either location).
    Revert Button
  2. Once you are on the Revert screen, you have a couple of different options.
    • You can preview every version with the Preview icon Preview File. (Please Note: This will open in another window or tab.)
    • You can view the XML of each version with the Preview XML Source icon XML Source. (Please Note: This will open in another window or tab.)
    • You can click on the Reversion number to revert back to that version.  After hitting the version number just click "Yes".
    Revert File
  3. The selected version has now become the current version of the page on the staging server. You can now edit this page, or publish it to make it the live version on your website. (Please Note: After reverting a file, you still must publish the file to make it live on the production server. Should the user or individual file require approval, the file will be passed along the intended approval path before it can be published.)
  4. The Message on the Revert screen is the message that you enter when you publish the file. 
  5. Other Icons on the Revert screen:
    • Saved On PublishVersion was saved on Publish
    • Saved on BackupVersion was saved on Backup
    • Global Find and ReplaceVersion was saved on a Global Find and Replace. Only Administrators have the ability to do this. (Please Note: Please do not revert to a version prior to this icon.  If you see this icon, IT probably made a fundamental change to the templates.)

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 
 Last Modified 9/25/14