Western Kentucky University

IT Division - OU Campus - Self Help

Removing and Restoring Files

There are two ways to remove a file using OU Campus.  You can either delete a file or recycle a file. 

If a file has been removed and was recycled, it can be recovered. For this reason, please use the Recycle Feature where available.

Please watch one of the video tutorials below or download the  PDF of Step By Step Guide for further assistance.

Step By Step Guide
  1. After logging in, click on the Content > Pages tab and identify the file/folder you’d like to delete.
    Pages Tab
  2. Click on the Delete Delete Icon or Recycle Recycle Bin Icon Icon associated with the file/folder.
    • Any deletion done with the Delete icon Delete Icon cannot be undone.
    • Individual files can be backed up in a recycle bin, instead of deleted, by using the Recycle Bin icon Recycle Bin Icon. Folders cannot be recycled.
    • Deleting Files/Folders will remove them from the Staging and Production Servers
    • If you delete a Folder it will delete everything under that folder.

    Delete and Recycle Icons
  3. To recycle multiple files simultaneously, check the appropriate checkboxes next to each file in the left most column. Then, click the Recycle icon at the top of the list.
    Recycle Check
  4. Confirm the deletion by clicking OK, and your files/folders will all be deleted.
    Recycle Ok
Restoring a File:
  1. If you need to restore a deleted file, click on the Restore icon shown below. You will be able to restore files to which you have access. However, you will be able to see all files that have been recycled. (Please Note: This is for files only.  No folders can be restored.)  Files deleted from the production server, including images, PDFs, and other files that do not have a direct counterpart on the staging server, are deleted permanently and are not recoverable,
    Restore File
  2. Once you have located the file you would like to restore, click the Restore icon for that file. It will be placed in its original location. This will restore the permissions and version history. You must publish it to get it back on the production server. (Please Note: You will not have the ability to empty the recycle bin)
    • If you want to restore a file from the recycle bin that shares the same name as a file on the staging server in the same directory path, you will be warned that you must move, rename, or recycle the file before restoring the original.
    • Multiple files of the same name and path can be sent to the Recycle Bin.  The files will be listed in the recycle bin with a -# (file-1.ext, file-2.ext, etc.) appended to the subsequent files.

    Restore File
  3. To Exit the Recycle Bin, click on the Exit Recycle Bin Icon
    Recycle Bin Exit
 Last Modified 4/30/14