Western Kentucky University

Media Relations

2012 student awards: Ogden College of Science and Engineering

2012 student awards: Ogden College of Science and Engineering

WKU’s Ogden College of Science and Engineering honored its outstanding students during an annual awards ceremony. The following students were recognized April 22 at the Carroll Knicely Conference Center:


  • Gary Cundiff of Louisville, Elmer Gray Outstanding Graduate Student Award
  • Whitney Churchman of Cecilia, Outstanding Senior
  • Caitlin Carter of Vine Grove, Outstanding Agricultural Business Student
  • Brooke D. White of Russellville, Outstanding Agricultural Education Student
  • Camille A. Hayden of Utica, Outstanding Agronomy Student
  • Christopher Davis of New Hope, Outstanding Animal Science Student
  • Clarice M. Esch of Somerset, Outstanding Horticulture Student
  • Joshua Blaker of Shepherdsville, Outstanding Turfgrass Management Student

Architectural & Manufacturing Sciences

  • Brittney Perry of Zachary, La., Outstanding Graduate Student in Engineering Technology Management
  • Sumbul Khan of Karachi, Pakistan, Lois G. and F. Dugan Montgomery Scholarship
  • Andrew Austin of Utica, Outstanding Senior in Advanced Manufacturing
  • Elizabeth Corbin Arrington of Russellville, Outstanding Senior in Architectural Sciences
  • Elizabeth P. Stout of Louisville, Outstanding Senior in Construction Management
  • Nathan Ruggles of Mayfield, Outstanding Senior in Industrial Vocational Education
  • Donald L. Haney of Edmonton, Outstanding Senior in Technology Management
  • Kurt R. Harper of Vine Grove, L.T. Smith Scholarship
  • Jeffry W. Edwards of Murray, Ryan Associated Architects Scholarship
  • Jonathan Washington of Nashville, Tenn., Ryan Associated Architects Scholarship
  • Nathan Weed of Rockfield, Society of Manufacturing Engineers Scholarship
  • James W. Estes of Glasgow, South Central Kentucky Section – American Society for Quality Control Award
  • Dennis G. Houchens of Bowling Green, South Central Kentucky Section – American Society for Quality Control Award
  • Kurtis Claywell of Burkesville, Walter B. Nalbach Industrial Education Scholarship


  • Jonathan Howton of Bowling Green, Outstanding Biology Graduate Student
  • Kevin Tewell of Meridian, Idaho, Dillard/Hoyt Graduate Scholarship
  • Derek Rupert of Montoursville, Pa., Outstanding Biology Teaching Assistant
  • Brenna Tinsley of Glasgow, Outstanding Biology Student
  • Victoria (Torey) Gilkison of Lawrenceburg, Outstanding Biodiversity Center Student
  • Jordan Olberding of Oceanside, Calif., Outstanding Biotechnology Center Student
  • Sarah Schrader of Bowling Green, Larry N. Gleason Award for Excellence and Dr. Dan Skean Award for Outstanding Microbiology Student
  • Chad Willis of Alvaton, L.Y. Lancaster Award


  • Yanfen Li of Bowling green, McNally Graduate Fellowship
  • Lakshmisri Vangala of Warangal, Andhra Pradesh, India, American Institute of Chemists Outstanding Graduate Student Award
  • Aaron McKee of Bowling Green, Outstanding Chemistry Major Award
  • Brittany Morgan of Franklin, Outstanding Chemistry Major Award
  • Amar Patel of Russellville, Outstanding Chemistry Major Award
  • Sarah Ward of Glasgow, Outstanding Chemistry Major Award
  • Aaron Daniel of Hartford, Outstanding Graduating Senior in Chemistry Award
  • Amy Poynter of Mount Vernon, Outstanding Graduating Senior in Chemistry Award
  • Chad Willis of Alvaton, Outstanding Graduating Senior in Chemistry Award
  • Nicholas Wright of Richmond, Outstanding Graduating Senior in Chemistry Award
  • Amanda Cook of Owenton, Outstanding Senior in Chemistry Education Award
  • Kristen Mikulcik of Murray, Outstanding Senior in Chemistry Education Award and Nell Skean Lab Assistant
  • Chris Steinker of Bowling Green, Organic Chemistry Award
  • Seth Sloan of Leitchfield, Organic Chemistry Award
  • Jason Young of Owensboro, Organic Chemistry Award
  • Hillary Asberry of Lancaster, Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry
  • Jarin James of Bethpage, Tenn., Undergraduate Award in Physical Chemistry
  • Litraca Shirley of Glasgow, Undergraduate Award in Physical Chemistry
  • Samuel White of Scottsville, Outstanding Freshman Award
  • Haley Valentine of Cincinnati, Carl P. McNally Undergraduate Scholarship Award
  • Dillon Pender of Elizabethtown, Glenn Dooley Undergraduate Scholarship Award
  • Zhibo Yuan of Henan, China, Ward C. Sumpter Scholarship Award
  • Heather Shockley of Chattanooga, Tenn., Nell Skean Lab Assistant
  • Andrea Toll of Bowling Green, Nell Skean Lab Assistant


  • Dennis Marshall Henson of Burkesville, Award for Academic Excellence in Civil Engineering
  • Kevin Hinson of Greenbrier, Tenn., Award for Academic Excellence in Civil Engineering
  • Cody R. Stuart of Manitou, John Russell Award in Civil Engineering
  • Joshua E. R. Wells of Harrison, Ohio, John Russell Award in Civil Engineering
  • Joseph Latham of Greenville, Award for Academic Excellence in Electrical Engineering
  • Brittany Wells of Clayton, Ohio, Award for Academic Excellence in Electrical Engineering
  • William G. Nalle of Somerset, John Russell Award in Electrical Engineering
  • Cody Alan Mahan of Seymour, Tenn., Most Outstanding Junior in Electrical Engineering
  • Hannah Nicks of Bowling Green, Most Outstanding Sophomore in Electrical Engineering
  • Seth Blankenship of Scottsville, Evan McCaslan
All News  Now Viewing Category: All
School of Journalism & Broadcasting
Media Relations
Academic Affairs
Augenstein Alumni Center
Instruments of American Excellence
Emergency Preparedness
Department of Music
Department of Theatre & Dance
Library News
Office of Sustainability
Office of International Programs
Office of Research
Ogden News
WKU Greeks News
WKU Parent and Family Weekend
Parent's Association
Student Activities and Organizations
Scholarships Student Financial Assistance
Student Government Association News
Van Meter Auditorium
Teaching News
Study Abroad
Student Research Council
Student Employment
WKU Joint Admissions
International Student Office
Human Resources News
Cultural Enhancement Series
The Confucius Institute
Campus Activities Board
The Carol Martin Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science in Kentucky
Development and Alumni Relations
Downing Student Union
Health Services
Hardin Planetarium
News from The Center for Gifted Studies
Student Financial Assistance
Downing Museum
Etown & Fort Knox
Employee Wellness
Latest Headlines
WKU group conducts water resources training in Jamaica
WKU Student develops The Ebola Project app to track virus

A WKU graduate student has developed a smartphone app that uses Twitter data to track the outbreak of the Ebola virus and could predict the spread of the virus.

Public Health Faculty Member Meets with the President of Tanzania
Featured Articles
 Last Modified 7/23/13