Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Advisor of the Year

The James L. Highland Media Adviser of the Year Award has been established to recognize the Kentucky high school media teacher who actively supports and protects the First Amendment rights of students through inspiring high ethical and professional standards. In addition, the award will recognize advisers' outstanding achievement in Kentucky's high school or middle school media classrooms and in student publications and broadcasts.

Award benefits

The winner is presented with a plaque from the WKU School of Journalism & Broadcasting during a recognition ceremony at the annual Mark of Excellence Yearbook Award Ceremony at WKU's Mass Media and Technology Hall.

Congratulations to Sheena Searcy of Franklin-Simpson High School, who was selected as the 2016 James L. Highland Adviser of the Year.



The deadline to submit entries is scheduled for the fall of each year. The 2017 date will be added when determined. The judging committee will be comprised of WKU faculty and staff. The contest covers the regular calendar year, January – December, enabling advisers from the spring or fall semester to apply.

Click here for criteria and application form for the 2016 award.

These links require Adobe Acrobat Reader to view. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your browser, simply click the image below for a quick and easy FREE install.

Adobe Reader

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 9/20/17